Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
alluran
Adept


Joined: 14 Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 1:04 pm   

CMud Pro + MySQL
 
Has anyone had any success connecting to a mysql database from CMud Pro yet?

I copied the libmysql.dll file from my MySQL install directory, into the install directory of CMud, but I can't seem to get it to connect to my home server (I can connect using the same user / pass / host / port via command-line tools, so it shouldn't be a config / permissions / firewall issue)

If anyone has had success , I'd greatly appreciate some pointers :)
_________________
The Drake Forestseer
Reply with quote
hadar
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Aug 2009
Posts: 198
Location: my apt, in california

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 3:55 pm   
 
i have not tried the built in version yet, but i have always used ODBC to connect to my mysql server, might want to look in that
_________________
if you build it they will come, assuming that they have not already come to build it
Aardwolf Bootcamp
My youtube channel
Reply with quote
alluran
Adept


Joined: 14 Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:56 pm   
 
I've used ODBC and I've also patched the cmud Lua DLLs to get it working via Lua before, but given I've got cMud Pro, and one of the few perks that come with that is inbuilt remote SQLDB functionality, I was looking to make use of that. :)

For now I'm just using the sqllite api instead, but it would be nice to be able to move to a common data store sometime.
_________________
The Drake Forestseer
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 7:23 pm   
 
You might be using the wrong version of the libmysql.dll file. Go to the Downloads area at the top of this page and go into the ZApp Downloads and look for the SQL database driver downloads. There should be ones there for MySQL.

I know when I did some basic testing with MySQL it worked for me, but you might show the exact commands you are trying to use so we can help more.
Reply with quote
alluran
Adept


Joined: 14 Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:10 pm   
 
If I remove my dll and add your ones, I get:

Quote:
None of the dynamic libraries can be found: libmysql51.dll, libmysql50.dll, libmysql.dll


Code:

#sqldb Baal sourcein_baal mysql 10.1.1.10 user pass


If I leave my dll in, after a pause, I get:

Quote:
SQL Error: Can't connect to MySQL server on '10.1.1.10' (10060)


:(
_________________
The Drake Forestseer
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:10 pm   
 
What directory are you putting those DLL files in? Put them into the same directory as the CMUD.EXE file.

What version of MySQL are you using on your server? If you are using MySQL 5.x, then try:
Code:
#sqldb Baal sourcein_baal mysql5 10.1.1.10 user pass

and see if that works.

Also, I assume you can normally connect to your MySQL server from other software on your local computer?
Reply with quote
alluran
Adept


Joined: 14 Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 10:11 am   
 
Yes, I can connect with the mysql shell prompt.

I tried your version and got same response :(

Maybe 5.x isn't supported?
_________________
The Drake Forestseer
Reply with quote
alluran
Adept


Joined: 14 Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:10 am   
 
Actually, I take that back, somehow my server firewall detected the incoming connection differently and was blocking it once I started using this syntax:

Code:
#sqldb Baal sourcein_baal mysql 10.1.1.10 3306 user pass


Thanks Zugg :)
_________________
The Drake Forestseer
Reply with quote
Anaristos
Sorcerer


Joined: 17 Jul 2007
Posts: 821
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:24 am   
 
I am curious to know why you are connecting on 10.1.1.10:10060 rather than 127.0.0.1:3306
Unless this is a remote connection? The default instance of mysql is localhost:3306. Localhost defaults to 127.0.0.1
_________________
Sic itur ad astra.
Reply with quote
alluran
Adept


Joined: 14 Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:02 am   
 
10060 was an error code, not a port number

10.1.1.10 is the server where Baal's website DB is stored... Much more useful connection for me than a local store :)
_________________
The Drake Forestseer
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net