Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account

Play RetroMUD
Nethran
Novice

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2011 5:33 pm   

Something Someone Asked Me

Shinde on the MM forums wrote:
Just a few critiques:

Does cMud/zMud support named array fields/associative arrays? I think you could clean things up with those. ie: only have one variable (say comstats) with a member for each value. eg: comstats[kills], comstats[bashhit], comstats[bashmiss], etc. Even using just a basic array would make comclear easier (just a for loop).

Also probably a good idea to anchor those triggers and use a match less permissive than *.

As stated several times, I am a newb. This person is obviously more knowledgable than I.

Here are my variables/triggers:

Code:

#VAR kills {0}
#VAR bashhit {0}
#VAR bashmiss {0}
#VAR kickhit {0}
#VAR kickmiss {0}
#VAR evades {0}
#VAR totaldefs {0}
#VAR armhit {0}
#VAR leghit {0}
#VAR headhit {0}
#VAR torsohit {0}
#VAR tailhit {0}
#VAR winghit {0}
#VAR perskills {0}
#VAR parries {0}
#VAR sblocks {0}
#VAR mfades {0}
#VAR acros {0}
#VAR pierces {0}
#VAR bashes {0}
#VAR slashes {0}
#VAR exotics {0}
#VAR hitstaken {0}
#VAR backstabmiss {0}
#VAR backstabs {0}
#VAR weaphits {0}
#VAR weapmisses {0}
#VAR dodges {0}
#TRIGGER {You attempt to stab*in the back with *, but miss.} {#ADD backstabmiss 1}
#TRIGGER {You stab * in the back with *.} {#ADD backstabs 1}
#TRIGGER {You fail to hit * with your*attack.} {#ADD weapmisses 1}
#TRIGGER {You deliver a roundhouse kick to *, connecting solidly.} {#ADD kickhit 1}
#TRIGGER {You attempt to kick * but miss.} {#ADD kickmiss 1}
#TRIGGER {You bash a * over the head with *.} {#ADD bashhit 1}
#TRIGGER {You attempt to bash * over the head with *, but miss.} {#ADD bashmiss 1}
#TRIGGER {*lunges towards you, but you dodge out of the way.} {#ADD evades 1}
#TRIGGER {You are * on the * by a * causing * damage.} {#ADD hitstaken 1}