|
Shezmu Wanderer
Joined: 23 Apr 2010 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:27 am
#VAR in another window |
Okay, let me see if I can explain this properly.
I have a variable in a class in my main window. I have a script in that window that totals up my current ammo count, and creates a new small window "ammocount" with the #EXECWIN command, then populates the totals of each type of ammo with #WIN ammocount Steel @blahblah...
I created a button on the ammocount window to switch ammo types, and want to store the value in a variable in my main window. But it seems to only want to store it to a variable under the "ammocount" window. How do I get it to apply the value to the variable in my main session window?
Let me know if doesn't make sense and I'll try to snap a screenshot. |
|
|
|
Myrkul Wanderer
Joined: 21 Aug 2008 Posts: 85
|
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:05 am |
[edit][/edit]
|
|
Last edited by Myrkul on Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:08 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
|
|
Shezmu Wanderer
Joined: 23 Apr 2010 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:40 am |
Doesn't // begin a comment, ignored by CMud?
|
|
|
|
Myrkul Wanderer
Joined: 21 Aug 2008 Posts: 85
|
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 3:39 am |
[edit][/edit]
|
|
Last edited by Myrkul on Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:09 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
|
|
Rahab Wizard
Joined: 22 Mar 2007 Posts: 2320
|
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:45 pm |
Actually, you can't access a variable in one window from another window. You can access a variable in a window from a module, or a variable from a module in another module or a window, if they can see each other (there are settings on which can see which). It doesn't matter which package the window or module are in.
|
|
|
|
Shezmu Wanderer
Joined: 23 Apr 2010 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:55 pm |
Myrkul was right. //window/class/variable worked, but when I first tried that, it wasn't working. Figured out why, I had a space in the name of my window. It was AVATAR Shezmu. I renamed it to just AVATAR and it worked fine. Thanks for the help.
|
|
|
|
Myrkul Wanderer
Joined: 21 Aug 2008 Posts: 85
|
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:19 pm |
[edit][/edit]
|
|
Last edited by Myrkul on Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:09 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:36 pm |
Also the // comments require a space after the // for it to always be recognized as a comment. So if you use // for comments, get in the habit of putting a space between the // and the comment.
Putting spaces in Variable, Alias, Window, or other names is generally a bad idea. Because CMUD uses spaces as delimiters for many commands. With a Window you can set the "Caption" of the window in the settings to be anything you want including spaces. So thing of the "Name" as the short name without spaces and not just the visible Caption.
Finally, you *can* access variables in other windows using this syntax. The //window/class/var syntax overrides the normal CMUD scoping rules. So you can access anything this way, but it's not recommended. Settings within Windows are meant to be private. |
|
|
|
|
|