|
seoci Newbie
Joined: 09 Jan 2011 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 7:18 pm
Automapper Help |
I'm trying to get the automapper to work with nanvaent, and try as I might, it doesn't appear to work. The mapper won't follow my position despite the numerous runs of the configuration wizard tweaks I have attempted.
Is there any chance someone can help me out? |
|
|
|
Tech GURU
Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
|
seoci Newbie
Joined: 09 Jan 2011 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:29 pm |
I read through the sections you linked me to, and I played around with the options in the client some more.
The pages you linked me to didn't help me with the issues I'm dealing with, but I was able to make a small amount of progress on my own. At this point, the mapper will only create new rooms when I run the configuration wizard. It will follow me as I move through any rooms that were created during the configuration wizard, but no new rooms will be created otherwise.
Suggestions? |
|
|
|
Darkflame808 Beginner
Joined: 21 Sep 2010 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:30 pm |
I had the same problem before!, Here's a suggestion.
Try going into mapper configuration and tweak the settings.
Here's a room that my mapper mapped after configuring.
Code: |
Entrance to Candera:
You have reached the outside of the desert war city of Candera. To the
south you see the huge steel double doors shut, blocking entrance to the
great fortress. To the east you see the beginning of a road leading off
towards the mountains. The desert sands fill the lands in all other
directions.
Obvious exits: all directions, city, path
|
But for example let's say I go into this room.
Code: |
New Outer Wall:
You are between the old and new walls of the city. Workers continue to
labor for the completion of the outer wall here. Laborers pull wheelbarrows
filled with sand and dirt to and from the contruction site. The partially
finished northeast tower looms over to the east. There are considerably
fewer laborers here than the rest of the contruction site. The walls
extend to the east and west.
Obvious exits are: west, east
|
or.....
Code: |
You are walking on a roadway.
Obvious exits: all directions
|
It wouldn't map these.
I found out the reason is because the autoconfigurator is basing it's values on the room you configured it on.
Take a sample of your map and break it down yourself. note the locations of the key components.
In my case, The first line was always the room
The second line always contained the description and the last line always contained the exits.
So in my case I set up my mapper configuration as follows.
Room name: Checked
Name Paragraph: 0
Name Start line: 0
ParseVnum in name: Unchecked I have no vnums on this mud
Match Room Name at start of line: Checked
Room Name uses proper case: Checked
Next page: Room Descriptions
Room Descriptions: Checked
Description Paragraph: 0
Description Start Line: 1 <---Next line after room name
Multiline Desc: Check
Room Desc Changes: up to you, on mine it does so CHECK
Next, Room Exits: OK here's where the mapper was messing up for me. It was looking for exits on the 5th line because that's where it found it the first time. Because there are no breaks in text between paragraphs, The mapper never locks on to when an exit line should start. In my case I changed it to the lowest value that pretained to my game. wich is shown in my example. So let's tweak this.
Room Exits: Check
Exits Para: 0
Exits Start Line: 1 <---same as description
Multiline Exits: Check <---This means that it'll keep looking for exits
Exit line contains key: Check
Exit line keyword: Obvious Exit <--Sometimes it's Exits: sometimes it's exits are: etc...so a general match. Don't put obvious only because if the word obvious appears in your desc it might start parsing too early. Descrptions like you are obviously facing south might trigger south exits but you could be looking at a wall lol.
Hope this was of help!
Good luck!
Oh there are a few tidbits you need to know.
1. This config on my mud lists the exits in the descrption if you decide to reread them from the room info panel.
2. Try enabling keyboard creation mode under the toolbar in the mapper. I don't know if it helps or not but for me I don't touch what is currently working even if it's a bandaid solution. Also, disable auto door creation if you are in a zone that doesn't show the exits like my example above. This prevents broken links from appearing on every new room you create. |
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:49 pm |
First, don't use keyboard creation. All keyboard creation does is allow you to draw roomboxes and exit lines using the numpad instead of using the toolbar in the mapper window. Could probably even call the feature the granddaddy of zMapper.
Second, check out #TAG. It's the mess-free alternative to the configuration wizard, as whatever is #TAGged is used INSTEAD of what is in the configuration settings. |
|
_________________ EDIT: I didn't like my old signature |
|
|
|
seoci Newbie
Joined: 09 Jan 2011 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:36 pm |
Thanks.
@Darkflame808: I tried the tweaks you outlined, but they didn't make it work. Your instructions were informative though, and I know what I'm doing a bit better now.
@MattLofton: Where would I use #TAG? I'm all for giving it a shot, but I have no idea where to even enter in the script. |
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:36 am |
In a trigger:
#trigger {whatever pattern will accurately match your room description} {#tag name} |
|
_________________ EDIT: I didn't like my old signature |
|
|
|
mose Novice
Joined: 02 Dec 2010 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:08 am |
CMUDPro 3.33a was matching my prompt for the room description and all sorts of weird stuff. What I finally ended up doing is creating a trigger to match all lines except the one I wanted to map and then set #nomap on them. For the line I wanted to map, I created a trigger to match the parts of the line and then used #tag, as MattLofton said. Now, CMUD has no choice but to do it my way. :-) It would be nice if the room matching patterns could be set more directly.
|
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:47 pm |
It's probably far more obvious than you think, but we can't really help you without seeing actual room data as sent from the game.
|
|
_________________ EDIT: I didn't like my old signature |
|
|
|
|
|