Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum
talonnb
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 12:44 am   

Commands sometimes going to channel capture window?
 
Sometimes mid-fight with my new system, the system 'prints' the commands the mud is getting to my chat window in the bright yellow that would normally show up in the main window if I had echo commands on....

Thing is, I don't....and I know I don't have anything like that routed to that window, so I'm assume its something weird.

Thanks for help in advance
Reply with quote
MattLofton
GURU


Joined: 23 Dec 2000
Posts: 4834
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 12:57 am   
 
Are you able to pin down which trigger or whatever is firing at those wrong-window times? The typical user will create a trigger somewhat in this fashion:

Code:
#trigger {line of mud text with wildcards inserted} {
  #command command-parameters
  alias alias-arguments
  [b]game command to send to the game[/b]
}


While there's really nothing absolutely wrong with doing this, it does leave you open to window focus issues like you are experiencing. All such commands should be sent via #SENDRAW or #SEND, and if they are still getting pushed into the wrong window then the use of #EXECWIN or similar command should be used to force the window focus back to the specified window.

Of course, if this all stems from you doing something that causes a click in these other windows then there's not much you can do.
_________________
EDIT: I didn't like my old signature
Reply with quote
talonnb
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 2:10 am   
 
MattLofton wrote:
Are you able to pin down which trigger or whatever is firing at those wrong-window times? The typical user will create a trigger somewhat in this fashion:

Code:
#trigger {line of mud text with wildcards inserted} {
  #command command-parameters
  alias alias-arguments
  [b]game command to send to the game[/b]
}


While there's really nothing absolutely wrong with doing this, it does leave you open to window focus issues like you are experiencing. All such commands should be sent via #SENDRAW or #SEND, and if they are still getting pushed into the wrong window then the use of #EXECWIN or similar command should be used to force the window focus back to the specified window.

Of course, if this all stems from you doing something that causes a click in these other windows then there's not much you can do.


I have two functions that seem to be doing this. My focuser and my plant eater. Both are functions, both use '#send' to send their commands to the mud, so I can't see what's wrong. All other functions do the same things, but don't show up there....oddly enough
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:39 pm   
 
You can also turn on the Script Debugger window to try and determine what triggers might be running and causing the text to get captured to your chat window.
Reply with quote
talonnb
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:29 am   
 
Zugg wrote:
You can also turn on the Script Debugger window to try and determine what triggers might be running and causing the text to get captured to your chat window.


Turned on script debugger and can't see which trigger is calling it to the window. The StupidityReset alarm doesn't have #capture in it at all, here's the result of the scrip debugger:

a TalonnbS |H:5145 M:5188 E:23400 W:24860 B:100% Spark:100% Stance:None XP:41% [cdb -b]
a TalonnbS |What do you want to eat?
a TalonnbS ]H:5145 M:5188 E:23400 W:24860 B:100% Spark:100% Stance:None XP:41% [cdb -b]
f TalonnbS | Pattern: ^H:(%d) M:(%d) E:(%d) W:(%d) B:(%d~%) Spark:(%d~%) Stance... : (%1=5145, %2=5188, %3=23400, %4=24860, %5="100%", %6="100%", %7="None", %8="41%", %9="cdb -b")
c TalonnbS | exec : Pattern "^H:(%d) M:(%d) E:(%d) W:(%d) B:(%d~%) Spark:(%d~...
f TalonnbS | Alarm: *.55
c TalonnbS | exec : Alarm "StupidityReset" : #if (@afflictions.stupidity = 1 ...
j TalonnbS >outc goldenseal
j TalonnbS >eat goldenseal
f ChannelT | Alarm: *.55
c ChannelT | exec : Alarm "StupidityReset" : #if (@afflictions.stupidity = 1 ...
a ChannelT |outc goldenseal
j ChannelT >outc goldenseal
a ChannelT |eat goldenseal
j ChannelT >eat goldenseal
a TalonnbS #Telnet 201: Char.Vitals "H:5145/5145 M:5182/5460 E:23400/23400 W:24858/24900 NL:41/100 "
a TalonnbS |H:5145 M:5188 E:23400 W:24860 B:100% Spark:100% Stance:None X
Reply with quote
mr_kent
Enchanter


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 698

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:38 am   
 
StupidityReset alarm, huh? I could use one of those at work, but I'd prolly wear it out. Rolling Eyes
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:52 pm   
 
You didn't tell us which lines were going to the wrong window, or what the names of the wrong window were, so it's hard to interpret your script debugger output without more info.

But it looks like your StupidityReset alarm is running in two different windows (TalonnbS and ChannelT) so maybe that is the problem. If you have this alarm in a different package, then you might want to disable that package for your other window.
Reply with quote
talonnb
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2010 1:23 am   
 
Zugg wrote:
You didn't tell us which lines were going to the wrong window, or what the names of the wrong window were, so it's hard to interpret your script debugger output without more info.

But it looks like your StupidityReset alarm is running in two different windows (TalonnbS and ChannelT) so maybe that is the problem. If you have this alarm in a different package, then you might want to disable that package for your other window.


Sorry, I meant to say that the "outc goldenseal" and the "eat goldenseal" are what are showing up in the channel capture window, and the reset is in the main healing package as is the channel capture triggers.....I don't know what could be possibly causing it.
Reply with quote
talonnb
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:43 am   
 
I sorta figured out what you meant Zugg.

Basically if you go to the window properties and uncheck where the StupidityReset alarm was package wise it stopped posting the commands in that window.

Thanks!
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net