Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account

Play RetroMUD
dreamopolis
Beginner

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:58 am   

How to configure the mapper correctly and using non standard movement controls

Hi,

I'm having some problems configuring the mapper.

I'm playing SoI, a Diku based RPIMUD. Here is an example of a standard in game screen:-

Quote:
Room name goes here
Exits: north east south west

Room description here.

Items in room go here

<****** / ||||||>

Problem 1)

The auto-configure for the mapper does not find the correct room name and directions etc. And -if- in the chance it does, it very often looses the configuration after a few reboots of CMUD.

Problem 2)

I need a way to properly configure and set up the mapper so that it recognizes when I use the commands sneak n, sneak e, sneak s, sneak w. Right now, the mapper only recognizes n,e,s,w.

I'm a total CMUD programing noob. I don't have a clue about anything above setting up a basic alias.

Please help.
Tech
GURU

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:07 pm   

It seems that for whatever reason the automapper can not dependably parse and identify the room descriptions. The best alternative this is to override the Mapper by using the #TAG command.

The links above should serve as a gentle introduction to the process. As you proceed feel free to post more specific questions and we'll be glad to help you. The best place to start is by reading Overriding the Mapper in the documentation.

[Edit]As for non-standard movement you would add a new direction via the menu or the #DIRECTION command.
Beginner

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:54 pm   

Thank you for the help, but I really can't make sense of the Overriding the mapper documentation.

One example is this:

#TRIGGER {^~[(*)~]} {#TAG name {%1}}

What do I need to edit out of that so that the mapper recognizes the exits in a room?

Would it be

#TRIGGER {exits:} {#TAG exits {%1}}

or something else?