Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
ayman
Newbie


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:09 am   

Seperate chat window
 
Hello, im completley new here, i have no idea how to make a seperate chat window for:

tells you: ................
(Thieves) ................
i copied a code into xml but alas, no avail, window isnt popping up

<trigger priority="830" newline="false" linecolor="0" language="XML" id="13">
<pattern>tells you</pattern>
<value>#cap Tells you</value>
</trigger>

i put tells you: in pattern :(
Reply with quote
Rahab
Wizard


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 2320

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:38 pm   
 
I think you misunderstand the syntax for #CAPTURE. The syntax is:
#CAPTURE NameOfWindow

The command #CAPTURE will send the entire last line (i.e. the line matched by the trigger) to the window named as an argument. If the window does not exist, it will automatically create the window. So, all you need to do is:
Code:

<trigger priority="830" newline="false" linecolor="0" language="XML" id="13">
<pattern>tells you</pattern>
<value>#cap TellWindow</value>
</trigger>

and it will put the line "SoAndSo tells you whatever" into a new window named TellWindow.
Reply with quote
ayman
Newbie


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:55 pm   
 
Thanks rahab but its still not working, someone "tells you" and chat window isnt poping up
i put in pattern tellwindow as well and in script txt i put #CAPTURE NameOfWindow and nothings poping up
Reply with quote
ralgith
Sorcerer


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 715

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:19 pm   
 
You weren't supposed to change the pattern.
_________________
CrossOver: Windows Compatibility on Mac and Linux CMUD Advocate
Reply with quote
Rahab
Wizard


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 2320

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:38 pm   
 
Have you checked whether the trigger is actually working? Try adding a "#show success" command to the trigger value. If you don't get a message saying "success", the trigger itself isn't firing.
Reply with quote
ayman
Newbie


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 7:27 am   
 
changed pattern back, trigger was a success but no window popping up :(
Reply with quote
Troublemag
Wanderer


Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 4:22 pm   
 
In the menu bar, click on "Window" and see if there is a listing for the name you gave your capture window. If so, click on it, then drag it to where you want it to dock in relation to your existing window.
_________________
CMUDPro 3.22
Reply with quote
Stevestones01
Beginner


Joined: 25 May 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:40 am   
 
this is what I use for mine.

Code:
#TR {{~(*~)|~<~<*~>~>}~: You say, ~"} {#T+ "Line Capturing"}
#TR {{~(*~)|~<~<*~>~>}~: * says, ~"} {#T+ "Line Capturing"}
#TR {You tell*, ~"} {#T+ "Line Capturing"}
#TR {%w tells you*, ~"} {#T+ "Line Capturing"}
#CLASS "Line Capturing" disable
#TR {~<%n~/%nh %n~/%nm~>} {#T- "Line Capturing"} {} {prompt}
#TR {~<%1/%2h %3/%4m %ne %nw %nx ~<({-|e})({-|b})~>{~>|~ ~<(*)~>~>}} {#T- "Line Capturing"} {} {prompt}
#TR {*} {#CAP Communication Window}
#CLASS 0


If I try and use the information you gave me, I could make it like this.

Code:
#TR {~(Thieves~)} {#T+ "Line Capturing"}
#TR {tells you:} {#T+ "Line Capturing"}
#CLASS "Line Capturing" disable
#TR {PUT YOUR PROMPT HERE} {#T- "Line Capturing"} {} {prompt}
#TR {*} {#CAP Communication Window}
#CLASS 0


I don't know what your prompt looks like, so I didn't put it in, you'll have to do that or provide the prompt here. I also didn't include any tells where you're telling some one something. Because I wasn't sure how it would look exactly. But once you put the prompt in...it should work, might not be the most fancy way of doing it, or the most efficient, but it captures everything into a new window perfectly for me
Reply with quote
ralgith
Sorcerer


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 715

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 2:29 am   
 
Stone, this is more efficient way of doing what you have:

Code:
#TR {^{~(*~)|~<~<*~>~>}~: %w {say|says},} {#CAP Communication Window}
#TR {^%w {tell|tells} %w,} {#CAP Communication Window}


Breaks it down into 2 triggers, and only has to fire ONCE. The only reason to double trigger like you have above is if you have line breaks (not line wrapping) in your comm texts. You don't need that whole class. :)

Hope that helps ya.

This is mine:
Code:

#TR {^~{{AvNet|LordNet|Chat|Grats|Newbie}~}} {#CAP Comms}
#TR {^{You say,|%w says,}} {#CAP Comms}
#TR {^%w {tell|tells} %w} {#CAP Comms}

Which, now that I look at it again, I can see that I could even make the pattern for say better like I did for you and like I did in my tells trig.
_________________
CrossOver: Windows Compatibility on Mac and Linux CMUD Advocate
Reply with quote
ayman
Newbie


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:09 pm   
 
thanks for the tips, there is no windwows listing that has the windows name under my command

and also what prompt do you mean?

i tried putting the code in ralgith but it comes up as expected string line 1 :< (thats what i put it in XML)
Reply with quote
ralgith
Sorcerer


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 715

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:16 pm   
 
That isn't XML code is why. You paste that onto your command line, not into the settings editor. :)
_________________
CrossOver: Windows Compatibility on Mac and Linux CMUD Advocate
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net