Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum
deathkitty
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 3:21 pm   

[3.16b] In all links the "&" sign gets turned into "&" when displaying
 
In all links, the "&" sign gets turned into "&" when displaying it (not when sending the text), even if the original address you typed in was definitely as a proper &. This means Youtube links look garbled at the end when you specify it as 480p "high quality" (&fmt=18) / 720p dvd quality (&fmt=22) / 1080p high definition (&fmt=37):

Quote:
(One) Xola wisps: http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&fmt=18
(One) Xola wisps: thats weird, did that say "amp" for you too?
(One) Xola wisps: instead of an and sign
You ask Grimrak: can you see what I said on talker?
Grimrak pirately asks you: A youtube link?
You ask Grimrak: yeah does it say "amp" in it at the end?
You tell Grimrak: its supposed to be an & but after i typed it it said amp for me
Grimrak pirately tells you: nope, last 3 characters are =18
You tell Grimrak: what is before fmt though
Grimrak pirately tells you: Nope, it's an &
You tell Grimrak: oh ok weird
(One) Xola wisps: another cmud bug I guess
(One) Xola wisps: its converting and signs into html?
(One) Eagleheart wisps: use Mushclient, free and without all the hassle!
(One) Wallsy wisps: Uh, what?
(One) Xola wisps: nusty try typing an and sign on chat
(One) Xola wisps: for me it comes back saying amp with a semicolon
(One) Joyeuse wisps: & ?
(One) Nusty wisps: &
(One) Xola wisps: does it say amp for you?
(One) Nusty wisps: are you putting the ~ infront of it?
(One) Xola wisps: no it has a for you?
(One) Nusty wisps: with a tilde thingie & with out &
(One) Xola wisps: what?
(One) Nusty wisps: no amp at all
(One) Zexium wisps: & is the html entity code for an ampersand
(One) Nusty wisps: sometimes you need to put a ~ infront so it doesn't convert it
(One) Xola wisps: no its not that
(One) Zexium wisps: I imagine you have some conversion setting active?
(One) Xola wisps: it goes in ok as & because I see it in yellow
(One) Nusty wisps: then your already above my paygrade in knowledge and skill
(One) Xola wisps: only when I get the text back from discworld it says andsign amp semicolon
(One) Nusty wisps: all I know is I am having no issues with html or amp or anything with zmud
(One) Xola wisps: http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&fmt=18
(One) Xola wisps: yep def there
(One) Xola wisps: it didnt happen when i typed & on its own though
(One) Xola wisps: only when its in another word.... weird.. oh wait may&&be its just links
(One) Xola wisps: yeah its links thats it
(One) Xola wisps: if you type & in a link the text discworld sends back to you says amp even though it apparently still looks like a & to other people
(One) Xola wisps: nusty try posting a link with a & in it
(One) Xola wisps: and see if it replaces it with amp for you too
(One) Nusty wisps: http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&fmt=18 your boring one again
(One) Xola wisps: looks like andsign amp semicolon just before fmt for me same as when I send it
(One) Xola wisps: on cmud
(One) Nusty wisps: do you have some crazy thing turned on in your cmud?
(One) Xola wisps: no havent changed anything from default settings, didnt you say you are on zmud tho?
(One) Nusty wisps: yes I am on zmud
You tell Zexium: does it have amp in it for you too
You tell Zexium: before fmt
Zexium tells you: no, it has the ampersand symbol
Zexium tells you: I think your mud client is applying url encoding to urls
You tell Zexium: its cmud isnt that what you have
Zexium tells you: no, mushclient
You tell Zexium: oh ok
You tell Zexium: only seems to be doing it on cmud
Zexium tells you: yeah - it's an unusual implementation, but it makes sense if he's going to pass the url to ie in a dde event when you click on it
You tell Zexium: dde? I don't use internet explorer I use firefox
Zexium tells you: whatever, he's still using the windows dde event handler to pass the url to windows, windows then uses a dde to pass it to the url handler
Zexium tells you: so your url handler is ff not ie, still uses dde
You ask Zexium: I mean what is a dde?
Zexium tells you: it's the windows mechanism that programs use to communicate with each other
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 5:25 pm   
 
I think the MUD itself is doing this. Check with the MUD admins and ask about this. They are probably encoding the & character with clients that have MXP supported.

You could help track this down using the Script Debugger window. Open the Script Debugger from the Editor menu and then make sure the Raw Input/Output message is turned on. Then do whatever on the MUD to cause the link to be received. Then post the raw output from the debugger window into this forum within [code] tags. This will allow me to see exactly what the MUD is sending to the client.

I did a quick test in CMUD here and did:
Code:
#show "test link: http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&fmt=18"

with the "Clickable URLs" package loaded and CMUD displayed the link just fine. So it doesn't look like CMUD is adding the & itself but it is somehow coming from the MUD.

Also tried:
Code:
#mxp "link <a href="www.zuggsoft.com">http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&fmt=18</a>"

and it worked fine too.

Remember that MUDs can detect your Client and Version, so it's very possible for the MUD to do something different on CMUD vs zMUD vs MUSHclient. I know that Discworld has been messing around with MXP, so it might be related to that.
Quote:
he's still using the windows dde event handler to pass the url to windows, windows then uses a dde to pass it to the url handler

That's just wrong misinformation too. CMUD does not use DDE to execute your web browser, it uses the shell exec API just like it's supposed to. It looks at whatever application is assigned to the *.htm file extension on your computer and runs that browser. So it works with Firefox, IE, etc...whatever your default browser is set to. Old versions of zMUD used DDE a long time ago.

Anyway, post the raw input/output from the MUD so I can look into this more.
Reply with quote
Taz
GURU


Joined: 28 Sep 2000
Posts: 1395
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 6:18 pm   
 
Also even with it encoded as &amp; the URL still works fine anyway. So it doesn't really matter if it's the mud doing it (I doubt it since the others didn't see it rendered on their screen that way) or CMUD doing it (potentially since it does have the clickable links package) or a combination of the two since end users will still be able to click the link and get the correct page.
_________________
Taz :)
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 7:43 pm   
 
True, but I'd still like to track down the cause of this. If the MUD is sending an & entity that CMUD isn't decoding, then that's actually a bug in CMUD. But I can't tell until I see the raw MUD output.
Reply with quote
deathkitty
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 8:14 pm   
 
hmm, you spent over 2 hours waiting for me when you couldve just looked, are you really that averse to connecting to discworld lol :) I remember having this problem over the MCCP/MXP/whatever thing ;)

both those code links do the same thing for me, the link cuts out about halfway. I tried changing the links to http://google.com and they do the same thing, but the bit where it cuts out moves with the text so it's always about halfway.

I couldn't find the script debugger in the editor but I found it, it's in Tools in the top menu
"make sure the Raw Input/Output message is turned on", hoping I got this right it's the one under Messages, i) show raw session input/output right? It was unticked by default but I enabled it:
Code:
10.274 |
0.0009 | c  Discworl |  [1] Discworld Comline : start :
0.0012 | a  Discworl |frimble http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&fmt=18
0.0046 | i  Discworl >frimble http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&fmt=18<CR><LF>
0.0010 | d  Discworl |  [1] Discworld Comline : stopped
1.6147 | i  Discworl *http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&amp;fmt=18<ESC>[4z<BR>> <ESC>[4z<!EN hp 2046 publish><ESC>[4z<!EN xp 2552680 publish><ESC>[4z<!EN gp 328 publish><ESC>[4z<!EN maxhp 2046 publish><ESC>[4z<!EN maxgp 328 publish><IAC><GA>
0.0167 | a  Discworl |http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&fmt=18
0.0008 | f  Discworl |  Pattern: \b(((https?|ftp|telnet)://[\w\d:#@%/;$()~_?\+\-=&amp;]+|www|f... : (%1="http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&fmt=18", %2="http://youtube", %3="http", %4=".com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&fmt=18")
0.0068 | c  Discworl |  exec : Pattern "\b(((https?|ftp|telnet)://[\w\d:#@%/;$()~_?\+\-=...
0.0046 | a  Discworl ]>


probably not very useful though since it happens without me even being connected to discworld offline when I do the #show and #mxp things tho like I mentioned, hmm
Reply with quote
Taz
GURU


Joined: 28 Sep 2000
Posts: 1395
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 9:15 pm   
 
Well I've logged onto Discworld and got myself a talker and used the One channel and posted that URL. I turned the talker to brief mode and also used a command that was suggested -> 'chenc' I did a test on all three settings and the & was always & never &amp;

My OS is Windows 7 Ultimate x64 recent install onto new laptop. CMUD is 3.16b and is the only version that has been on here. I created a new session for Discworld and connected, it detected I was using CMUD, it set up a bunch of MXP stuff including a status bar. No preferences changed at all.

My thoughts at the moment are I have a memory of someone having issues with URLs since one of the betas and they deleted the url package and I think it recreated itself and that sorted them, if my memory serves correct then that may well be worth a bash.
_________________
Taz :)
Reply with quote
Taz
GURU


Joined: 28 Sep 2000
Posts: 1395
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 9:24 pm   
 
deathkitty wrote:
hmm, you spent over 2 hours waiting for me when you couldve just looked, are you really that averse to connecting to discworld lol :)

I doubt that Zugg spent any time waiting for you let alone two hours. I connected to Discworld and got myself out of the starter area and found my way to a shop and exchanged a voucher for a talker. I can tell you it took quite a while and yes in order to be as close as possible to what you are seeing it is necessary to have done so rather than simply hop on Discworld and do a quick #MXP.
_________________
Taz :)
Reply with quote
deathkitty
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 9:55 pm   
 
i'll reinstall the whole thing to make sure tomorrow, it's possible it got corrupted somehow I guess but I definitely haven't changed anything since installing it (because I wanted to try work out the problems I had on my last pc this time so I know it wasnt any scripts)
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 4:49 pm   
 
You also might check in your MXP Preferences to see what the "Force Remote MXP" option is set to. If the MUD is properly negotiating MXP, then this option should be enabled. But if this option is disabled, then CMUD is not going to convert any MXP entities (like &).

For example, in a session with Clickable URLs enabled, if the "Force Remote MXP" option is OFF and you do:
Code:
#show "http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZYFdXiS-wdM&fmt=18"

then it shows on the screen with the &. However, if the "Force Remote MXP" option is ON and you issue the same command, then the & is properly converted to the & character.

So maybe somehow you got the Force Remote MXP option turned off?
Reply with quote
deathkitty
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 6:44 pm   
 
today when I logged in again (i havent reinstalled cmud yet its unchanged) I did that command and the exact same ones I did before and it's not doing it anymore, v weird

you are right, force remote mxp was off somehow, don't remember changing that it's quite a well hidden option - but it seemed to have fixed itself before i turned that on
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 4:38 pm   
 
Force Remote MXP is only needed if the MUD itself doesn't have MXP negotiation. So maybe Discworld added the proper MXP negotiation so that you don't need the Force Remote option anymore?
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net