Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
Rikeshar
Beginner


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:38 am   

Sending blank spaces in the composer
 
Okay, I'm having an issue with blank spaces in the composer. When I try to format a box, such as:

EDIT: Geeze, okay, it doesn't line up right here either. Screen shot can be found at http://www.mediafire.com/i/?nhndrgmdznt


When I send the text through the composer it comes out like this:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
| ## | Ability | Effect |
|----+-----------+-----------------------------------------------------|
| 7 | Briars | If cast over a demesne, briars will randomly grow & |
| | | tangle your enemies so they must WRITHE before they |
| | | can move again; can be cast in specific directions |
| 9 | Roots | Roots will attack all enemies burrowed underground |
| 13 | Murder* | A murder of crows will attack each of your enemies |
| 14 | Spores* | Causes confusion in the mind of your enemies |
| 16 | Pollen* | Affects your enemies with asthma |
| 17 | Treelife* | Any enemies present will be pulled into the trees |
| 18 | Treebane | Will cause enemies to be ejected from the trees |
| 19 | Thorns* | Thorny branches will attack enemies in the trees |
| 20 | Spiders* | Spiders will afflict enemies with one poison |
| 21 | Swarm* | Insects descend on your enemies and cause paralysis |
| 24 | Storm* | Creates a storm which throws lightning at enemies |
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Any ideas on how to get it to recognize the blank spaces? The game I'm playing is Lusternia. If I type it out in Notepad and copy past it into their own Nexus client, it comes out correctly, but not in cmud's composer.
Reply with quote
MattLofton
GURU


Joined: 23 Dec 2000
Posts: 4834
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 7:01 am   
 
I believe you can type CTRL-R to turn off parsing in the CMud Text Editor. The same option can be toggled in the Options menu.
_________________
EDIT: I didn't like my old signature
Reply with quote
charneus
Wizard


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1876
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 7:25 am   
 
As for it not 'lining up right here either', put code tags around it:

Code:
+----------------------------------------------------------------------+
| ## | Ability   | Effect                                              |
+----+-----------+-----------------------------------------------------+
| 7  | Briars    | If cast over a demesne, briars will randomly grow & |
|    |           | tangle your enemies so they must WRITHE before they |
|    |           | can move again; can be cast in specific directions  |
| 9  | Roots     | Roots will attack all enemies burrowed underground  |
| 13 | Murder*   | A murder of crows will attack each of your enemies  |
| 14 | Spores*   | Causes confusion in the mind of your enemies        |
| 16 | Pollen*   | Affects your enemies with asthma                    |
| 17 | Treelife* | Any enemies present will be pulled into the trees   |
| 18 | Treebane  | Will cause enemies to be ejected from the trees     |
| 19 | Thorns*   | Thorny branches will attack enemies in the trees    |
| 20 | Spiders*  | Spiders will afflict enemies with one poison        |
| 21 | Swarm*    | Insects descend on your enemies and cause paralysis |
| 24 | Storm*    | Creates a storm which throws lightning at enemies   |
+----+-----------+-----------------------------------------------------+


Charneus
Reply with quote
Rahab
Wizard


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 2320

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:53 pm   
 
If you don't know what Charneus means, code tags are: [code] . . . [/code]

You put your code within those tags, and it gets formatted as in Charneus' demonstration.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:54 pm   
 
What exactly do you mean by the "Composer"? Are you talking about the built-in Editor window in CMUD that is activated when MCP and ATCP supporting MUDs activate their composer, or are you typing lines directly into the composer from the normal CMUD command line?

If you are using the CMUD command line, put " quotes around your entire command line to preserve all of the spaces. Otherwise multiple spaces can get stripped, along with some special characters.

And as MattLofton mentioned, you can toggle the command line parsing off with Ctrl-R.
Reply with quote
Rikeshar
Beginner


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:20 pm   
 
I'm talking about the window that pops up with the built-in editor. I tried turning parsing off, still no go.

Edit: I tried turning off parsing, "Send blank lines" and "Send line by line" just to see what would happen, with no noticeable effect.
Reply with quote
Rikeshar
Beginner


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 7:04 pm   
 
Update: Just to see what would happen, I copy and pasted the box in the code box on charneus post above into the Editor and it came out lined up perfectly. Any idea what was different about it?
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:02 pm   
 
So pasting the above code box worked differently than just typing it in manually? That's *really* weird.

The current Editor window in CMUD uses a component called TRichView that is intended for HTML editors. It's possible that it strips multiple white space somehow (since that's what HTML does). In a future version I plan to replace this HTML component with the same Scintilla Editor used in the Package Editor for scripts. This would be useful for people using the FTP option in CMUDPro/TeSSH for editing source code files on a server since it would provide syntax highlighting based upon the file extension being edited (like PHP highlighting for *.PHP files).

When I make this change, my guess is that it will also fix the problem with extra spaces being removed, along with many other problems in the editor. The current TRichView/HTML component would only be used for viewing ANSI color or HTML log files, rather than being used as the multiline box for text sent to the MUD.

Anyway, since the current control is the RichView/HTML control, it's possible that pasting the text from the code box above is causing non-breaking-spaces to be pasted into the editor.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net