Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum
Anaristos
Sorcerer


Joined: 17 Jul 2007
Posts: 821
Location: California

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 6:58 am   

[310B] Problem with settings
 
I find some settings that are changed from script (or by hand) recover their old value. Changing it by hand will "work" until I move away from the setting. Looking again at the setting shows the old value. This is not an illusion (a bad display) because scripts react to the setting. The only way to stop this is to delete the setting and recreate it. this problem is persistent though I have no way of telling when it begins. Sometimes, the setting behaves normally but some time during the session it begins to behave as I describe. I only realize the problem is back when my scripts start misbehaving. This also applies to enabling/disabling, though in this case there is no need to move away from the setting to see the problem. Unchecking the enabled flag on a trigger will sometimes show that, according to the treeview, CMUD thinks that the trigger is still enabled, even though the box is unchecked. Then, moving away and back from the setting will show that the box is now again checked. I've been trying to figure out the problem for some days now without success.
_________________
Sic itur ad astra.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:25 pm   
 
You will need to give me a specific step-by-step procedure for reproducing this. I've never run into this problem, so either some trigger is running in the background while you are editing that is causing confusion, or something else is happening. But you'll need to pin this down to something the rest of us can try or else we don't be able to help with this.
Reply with quote
Anaristos
Sorcerer


Joined: 17 Jul 2007
Posts: 821
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:43 am   
 
It is precisely because triggers didn't fire that I discovered this problem. The setting in question is a flag that tells an invoked script whether I should enable a set of triggers or not. When I looked at the flag, it was in the wrong state and I assumed that it was my mistake. So I reset it. Went back to look at it again and it was again set. This went on and on until I finally deleted the flag and created it again. Then it stayed put when I reset it. This happens every session, more than once. It also happens that disabled triggers stay enabled. When they start doing it or why they are doing it I have no way to tell. I'v looked at the package file and it shows that the state of the trigger is enabled even though the checkbox is unchecked which is why the treeview shows the trigger as enabled. Same with the pesky flag, even though I am looking at the setting and it has a 0, in the settings file the value is 1, which explains why going to another setting then coming back to the flag setting shows that the value has been "restored". This problem is not new (I didn't just notice it) . I am posting because I don't know what to do about it. Unless you can instruct me on how to develop some "onvaluechange" event, I don't know how to track this problem.

EDIT: I just attempted the following: A trigger that I tried to disable remained enabled, so I cut/pasted it. This caused an access violation and the setting disappeared, the pasting operation didn't take. However, pasting the setting to a text file showed that the XML was on the clipboard. CMUD just won't perform the paste operation.

Code:

date/time         : 2009-08-20, 18:33:23, 967ms
computer name     : XXXXXXXXXX
user name         : XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
registered owner  : XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
operating system  : Windows Vista Service Pack 2 build 6002
system language   : English
system up time    : 1 hour 30 minutes
program up time   : 1 hour 29 minutes
processors        : 2x Intel(R) Core(TM) Duo CPU T2350 @ 1.86GHz
physical memory   : 971/2037 MB (free/total)
free disk space   : (C:) 56.36 GB
display mode      : 1440x900, 32 bit
process id        : $135c
allocated memory  : 153.92 MB
executable        : cMUDPro.exe
exec. date/time   : 2009-07-28 15:47
version           : 3.10.0.1
compiled with     : BCB 2006/07
madExcept version : 3.0h
contact name      : XXXXXXXXXXXXX
contact email     : XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
callstack crc     : $68a1af09, $74bc7256, $74bc7256
exception number  : 4
exception class   : EAccessViolation
exception message : Access violation at address 004050D8 in module 'cMUDPro.exe'. Read of address 00000109.

Main ($1360):
004050d8 +008 cMUDPro.exe  System          281  +0 TObject.InheritsFrom
004bf5eb +2bb cMUDPro.exe  Controls                TControl.WndProc
004c35ef +4fb cMUDPro.exe  Controls                TWinControl.WndProc
004a5b4f +553 cMUDPro.exe  Forms                   TCustomForm.WndProc
00d4c138 +020 cMUDPro.exe  DXSounds       2128  +9 TCustomDXSound.FormWndProc
00d498dc +00c cMUDPro.exe  DXClass         635  +1 TControlSubClass.WndProc
004c2d18 +02c cMUDPro.exe  Controls                TWinControl.MainWndProc
0047c7d4 +014 cMUDPro.exe  Classes                 StdWndProc
76b1b754 +016 USER32.dll                           CallWindowProcA
006d9e2f +0a7 cMUDPro.exe  aqDockingUtils 1728  +7 CallDefWndProc
006d9f1d +0dd cMUDPro.exe  aqDockingUtils 1776 +41 TaqWindowEventFilter.WndProc
0047c7d4 +014 cMUDPro.exe  Classes                 StdWndProc
76b08b77 +00a USER32.dll                           DispatchMessageA
004463b9 +23d cMUDPro.exe  madExcept               HandleException
0044c85e +03a cMUDPro.exe  madExcept               InterceptAHandleExcept
004c2d53 +067 cMUDPro.exe  Controls                TWinControl.MainWndProc
76fa5f46 +081 ntdll.dll                            RtlRaiseStatus
76fa5dd2 +00a ntdll.dll                            KiUserExceptionDispatcher
004bf5eb +2bb cMUDPro.exe  Controls                TControl.WndProc
004c35ef +4fb cMUDPro.exe  Controls                TWinControl.WndProc
004a5b4f +553 cMUDPro.exe  Forms                   TCustomForm.WndProc
00d4c138 +020 cMUDPro.exe  DXSounds       2128  +9 TCustomDXSound.FormWndProc
00d498dc +00c cMUDPro.exe  DXClass         635  +1 TControlSubClass.WndProc
004c2d18 +02c cMUDPro.exe  Controls                TWinControl.MainWndProc
0047c7d4 +014 cMUDPro.exe  Classes                 StdWndProc
76b1b754 +016 USER32.dll                           CallWindowProcA
006d9e2f +0a7 cMUDPro.exe  aqDockingUtils 1728  +7 CallDefWndProc
006d9f1d +0dd cMUDPro.exe  aqDockingUtils 1776 +41 TaqWindowEventFilter.WndProc
0047c7d4 +014 cMUDPro.exe  Classes                 StdWndProc
76b08b77 +00a USER32.dll                           DispatchMessageA
004adcc4 +0fc cMUDPro.exe  Forms                   TApplication.ProcessMessage
004adcfe +00a cMUDPro.exe  Forms                   TApplication.HandleMessage
004adff3 +0b3 cMUDPro.exe  Forms                   TApplication.Run
00f67f28 +088 cMUDPro.exe  cMUDPro         362 +20 initialization
76ead0e7 +010 kernel32.dll                         BaseThreadInitThunk


Here is the XML found on the clipboard:

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1" ?>
<cmud>
  <trigger name="q2trigger" priority="57870" trigontrig="false" regex="true" newline="false" enabled="false">
    <pattern>^You are on a quest to slay ([^!]+)!$</pattern>
    <value>qmob = %trim(%1)
;;
#TEMP {^$} {questproc} "" "regex"</value>
    <trigger trigontrig="false" regex="true" newline="false" enabled="false">
      <pattern>^@qmob can be found in the vicinity of (.+) which</pattern>
      <value>qroom = %trim(%1)</value>
    </trigger>
    <trigger trigontrig="false" regex="true" newline="false" enabled="false">
      <pattern>^is in the general area of ([^\.]+)\.$</pattern>
      <value>qzone = %trim(%1)</value>
    </trigger>
  </trigger>
</cmud>


My entire session is riddled with this problem. I have now a trigger that the settings editor won't even bother to remove the check on the checkbox as previously stated. Now, as soon as I uncheck the box, it gets checked again. But, here is the best part, the trigger shows as disabled in the treeview.
_________________
Sic itur ad astra.
Reply with quote
Rahab
Wizard


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 2320

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 2:03 am   
 
I have seen similar things happen when my package gets messed up. To fix it, I usually have to export and import the settings anew, checking that everything gets imported correctly.
Reply with quote
Anaristos
Sorcerer


Joined: 17 Jul 2007
Posts: 821
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 2:41 am   
 
Re-starting CMUD restored the balance. Either procedure to fix the problem, yours or mine, is a bit drastic IMHO. I suspect that this is linked to some package file I/O operation done by CMUD, where it thinks that it has updated the database and for some reason the update fails causing the old value to be "restored" next time one accesses the setting.
_________________
Sic itur ad astra.

Last edited by Anaristos on Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 3:57 pm   
 
I assume that after restarting CMUD, if you paste the above XML into your session then it works fine? I pasted it here and it worked.

The crash dump that you gave shows that the memory stack is completely corrupted. It's just showing a bunch of Windows system event calls and nothing in my actual source code.

So something in one of your scripts is causing a severe memory and database corruption at some point during your playing. It is going to be very difficult to track down the actual cause of the problem.

You might create an alarm trigger that runs every 10 seconds or so and checks your triggers to see if the one that fails gets disabled suddenly. Then you can print a message as soon as it happens (or within 10 seconds). And if you play with the Script Debugger open, then you can look at the past 10 seconds of activity and see which trigger or other script was running.

Also, when you said "this problem is not new", can you confirm that this problem happens in the 2.37 public version? I want to rule out any changes related to the new mapper and database formats.
Reply with quote
Anaristos
Sorcerer


Joined: 17 Jul 2007
Posts: 821
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:07 am   
 
Sorry, by "not new" I meant that it has been with 3.10 since the beginning. I didn't have this problem in 2.37 or any of the prior BETA versions.
_________________
Sic itur ad astra.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net