Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
demoneyoungblood
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 114
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:21 am   

#capture, windows with same names
 
Ok... so in zmud you could have capture windows with the same names and all was well.....

In cmud, I have found it frustrating to setup my individual capture windows as I have always done (I took a fairly long break from mudding, but am back to it again since I can do it at work).

Anyways...

On my imm, I have: OOCs, Imm, Chat
On my mortal, I have: OOCs, Chat

On both of them I have triggers to capture to the specified window...

Now only one problem... ALL of the captures go to the window corresponding to the mortal. I hate that. Now granted, I could change the name to be MOOC MChat and such, but don't think I should need to.

Tried messing with the checkboxes for the window settings, didnt seem to be able to get it right.

Whats the correct way of doing this?
_________________
-Demone YoungBlood
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4188
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:34 am   
 
Myself, I run a seperate instance of CMUD for each sessions i want running, i have yet to see a #CAP misfire across instances

Alternatively, try something like

#CAP %concat(%char, "-OOC")
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4188
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:57 am   
 
You likely could call it via the full window name as well i believe

#CAP "sessionname//windowname"

I'm not entirely sure on the syntax for such referencing, so that may/won't work.
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
Rahab
Wizard


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 2307

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:43 pm   
 
I don't believe that last works, Shalimar. You can't reference a package name that way, the top level you can reference is the module or window.
Reply with quote
Rahab
Wizard


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 2307

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:51 pm   
 
A for the original question, you basically can't, unless you run entirely different instances of Cmud as Shalimar first suggested. Normally you should name modules and windows uniquely; how else could you possibly specify which one you really mean? As you have noticed.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:19 pm   
 
In zMUD, "child" capture windows were owned by their main session window. In CMUD, all windows are equal...there isn't any sort of "child" ownership. So when you capture to a window, CMUD has no way to know which window you want it to capture to if you have multiple windows.

What I'll add to the to-do list for a future version is to have CMUD look in the current package for the window first. This should allow multiple sessions to properly access the windows within a particular session package first and should fix this problem for you.
Reply with quote
demoneyoungblood
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 114
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:03 am   
 
Thanks Zugg. Its not really necessary, since I did as was suggested and used the %concat method, didnt realize how the window inheritance had changed so was confused.
_________________
-Demone YoungBlood
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net