|
Draft Beginner
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:00 pm
Multiple Characters |
I run multiple characters on a single MUD but not at the same time. I have created session logins for each. Is there a way to create aliases, triggers and buttons for just those characters so that you can only use those aliases, triggers and buttons for those characters and create entirely new ones that only work for your other characters?
|
|
|
|
chamenas Wizard
Joined: 26 Mar 2008 Posts: 1547
|
Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:18 pm |
The way I've achieved this is to create two packages. One package is created by default for the session with the charater's name. The other one is obtained one of two ways. First you must create it.
If you click on Settings, find and select file and then New Package.
Create the package and create a name for it. Since I play Dark and Shattered Lands, I called mine DSL.
You may then attach it to your session either by going back to Settings, file and selecting open package find the one you created. Or, you can click on edit session when you open up the sessions window, click over to the package files tab and click on the green plus sign. Find the package you created and voila. So long as you attach this new package to all your sessions, any changes you make in it will reflect across all characters. Your individual session packages will remain untouched. Additionally, you can store variables in your session packages that can be used by the other package so that your characters may access the same trigger and aliases with variables that hold different values in accordance to them. |
|
|
|
Draft Beginner
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:33 pm |
I think I just prefer to have one package per character. Doesn't it just use one package at a time? If I create one for each character then it will only use the things I set for each no?
|
|
|
|
chamenas Wizard
Joined: 26 Mar 2008 Posts: 1547
|
Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:38 pm |
The session package for your character should suffice. But if you wish to have some triggers that remain the same across all characters, I highly suggest a general package for all of them. Your session can use more than one package (I don't know if there's a limit) per session, it is easier to fix one trigger that all of your character's access than to fix it for all of your characters because it is in each of their own separate packages.
|
|
|
|
Draft Beginner
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:49 pm |
I see. So when I just load CMUD and add a trigger while I am logged in, isn't that the session package? I have not messed with packages at all. I just hit the trigger button at the top and load a new trigger. This trigger goes across all my characters and that's what I am trying to stop.
|
|
|
|
chamenas Wizard
Joined: 26 Mar 2008 Posts: 1547
|
Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:00 pm |
If you follow the steps to create a new package and attach it to your session, you will notice when you hit settings (or triggers, aliases, variables, etc...) that the package editor will have a few tabs towards the top with the names of the packages. Clicking on the proper tab and selecting the proper module will allow you to create triggers, variables and aliases just for that package. And, as I said, if you hook up the general package to all your sessions, any changes made when one session is open will affect all the others for that general package, though not the session's package.
|
|
|
|
Draft Beginner
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:30 pm |
Okay, I got it! Awesome. Thank you.
|
|
|
|
dguevara Newbie
Joined: 08 Oct 2008 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 9:13 pm |
I use a different approach, Using the same package i just organize classes for characters and use a multistate button to select the one im playing, so i have a general class for everything i want to remain the same for all of them and just activate and deactivate the rest of my char specific settings.
Code: |
#T+ Druid
#T- Cleric
#T- Conjurer
#T- Necro
#ECHO -----------------------------DRUID CLASS SELECTED----------------------------------
C_Selected = Druid |
this would be one of the states of the multi button |
|
|
|
chamenas Wizard
Joined: 26 Mar 2008 Posts: 1547
|
Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 10:35 am |
That works too, in CMUD there's often many solutions to one question.
|
|
|
|
|
|