Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum
Vijilante
SubAdmin


Joined: 18 Nov 2001
Posts: 5182

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 11:07 pm   

[2.15] Mismatched ( on command line *CRITICAL*
 
First this does not pop up a parsing error when it should. In the right form this creates a run away allocation and lock up.

Procedure
1. Launch CMud
2. Close Sessions window (ESC)
3. Enter at the command line
Code:
#SHOW @a("B"

You will notice that there is no parsing error, the B is left on the stack and sent to the mud.

You may close and repeat steps 1 and 2 to test the next, but it is not necessary.
4. Enter at the command line
Code:
#IF (1 {a}


I suggest being ready to kill the application quickly before doing step 4. CMud can eat up over 300MB in the first second after that on my system.
_________________
The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums
Reply with quote
Guinn
Wizard


Joined: 03 Mar 2001
Posts: 1127
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:32 am   
 
Confirmed, ouch. Got to 700MB in 3-4 seconds
_________________
CMUD Pro, Windows Vista x64
Core2 Q6600, 4GB RAM, GeForce 8800GT
Because you need it for text... ;)
Reply with quote
Yamabushi
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 101
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:28 am   
 
got to 1.7GB in the task manager before I killed it in Vista.

Very interesting.
_________________
Yama
Reply with quote
slicertool
Magician


Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 459
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:42 am   
 
yeah, I spiked over 500 MB the first time and upwards of 1.2 GB of memory the second, but they both appeared to calm back down after a moment. Also, after about 45 seconds to a minute and a half, the error dialog pops up. So, I sent my crash dump Zuggward so he could look at it.

Anyone else have similar after letting it do its dirty work?
_________________
Ichthus on SWmud: http://www.swmud.org/
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:49 pm   
 
Yeah, this one was stupid....

In previous versions, I had code like this:
Code:
if Compiled then ExecuteThread...

and when I did the optimization for only using threads when necessary, the code got changed to this:
Code:
if Compiled and not(NeedsThread) then ExecNoThread
else ExecuteThread

The "NeedsThread" flag is set by the compiler and tells us if a thread is needed to run the script. So, you can see the problem, right? If the script doesn't compile at all, then it is calling ExecuteThread. Bad bad bad. That's what I get for programming when I'm sick. (and yes, I'm still sick, but I'm reading the forum anyway)
Reply with quote
slicertool
Magician


Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 459
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:56 pm   
 
Figured I'd might as well post it...

Fixed in 2.16Pro
_________________
Ichthus on SWmud: http://www.swmud.org/
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net