Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
Fuego Ledrey
Wanderer


Joined: 09 May 2007
Posts: 64
Location: Dustin Acres, California

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:51 am   

Button ellipses.
 
I know it's a known bug, but here is the reason for the post.

Until 5 minutes ago, I was playing a MUD with v1.33 and everything worked fine, I hadn't noticed this bug before. I signed onto the forums again and noticed that v1.34 was out, so I closed CMUD, opened it again to get the upgrade and proceeded to upgrade. Now, for some reason, my buttons are ellipsing. Weird, as it worked for me in v1.33 5 minutes ago. Nothing changed besides upgrading. So I played around with it for a little bit, and got some weird results. Here's what the button is supposed to look like, screenshot taken a couple days ago, v1.33 just to clearify:



Here is the screenshot from directly after I installed v1.34 and opened up CMUD again:



Then, as I said, I played around with it. I changed the text in the button to read "Fu". Obviously I expected this to be short enough, I was yet again, surprised to see this:



As you can see, it appears as though the font changed, and, of course, the ellipses are showing up with adequate space. Thoughts?
Reply with quote
Fuego Ledrey
Wanderer


Joined: 09 May 2007
Posts: 64
Location: Dustin Acres, California

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:00 am   
 
NOTE: I read an earlier post by Zugg and checked to make sure my dpi is 96, it was and still is.
NOTE: I have Windows Vista Home Premium. Another other specs you might want/need?
_________________
EDIT: Image moved to Avatar FINALLY.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:12 am   
 
I have no idea how just recompiling this with the un-corrupted compiler would make any difference. But if it helps, I reproduced this problem last week and it's already on the bug list. My test case looks just as bad as it did last week, so I'm not sure 1.34 is really any different. But there is definitely a bug and it's a weird one because changing the button size, font, etc don't seem to have any effect on it. It's almost like the button stopped using the proper bounds rectangle to calculate the ellipses.

In any case, since I have already reproduced it, I don't need any other information...it should be easy to fix for the July edition.

Don't get your hopes up for any "quick fix". There are lots of bugs that I'm fixing this month, and this is just one of many. The only reason I released 1.34 was to make sure that the bug reports and crash dumps that I was getting were not from a corrupted compiler. I didn't mean to get anyone's hopes up for a long line of quick bug fixes right now.
Reply with quote
Fuego Ledrey
Wanderer


Joined: 09 May 2007
Posts: 64
Location: Dustin Acres, California

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:25 am   
 
Thank you for responding, it's much appreciated. I'm not too sure why it happened on the upgrade to 1.34 either, I was hoping you could tell me, heh. Thanks for all your hard work, keep it up.
_________________
EDIT: Image moved to Avatar FINALLY.
Reply with quote
Guinn
Wizard


Joined: 03 Mar 2001
Posts: 1127
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:53 am   
 
I also noticed it when I upgraded to 1.34, definitely wasn't happening in 1.33
_________________
CMUD Pro, Windows Vista x64
Core2 Q6600, 4GB RAM, GeForce 8800GT
Because you need it for text... ;)
Reply with quote
Harlequ1n
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:46 pm   
 
Same is happening to me.

It doesn't seem to occur unless variables are used in the button name, in my instance.

EDIT: To be precise, if I use an %if statement, and it tries to display something like @amwielding, it'll do the ellipse thing. If it doesn't try to display the variable and instead a string, "Nothing", in this case, then it displays fine.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:53 pm   
 
Actually, in my test case I don't use any variables and I still see the problem.

I guess if the corrupted compiler could cause an obscure error when opening the mapper, it could also have caused some code to mask this particular bug too. From what I can tell, the corrupted compiler was actually compiling the code ok, but was corrupting something in the linking phase and linking wrong versions of libraries together (and not rebuilding some library files).

If the button caption problem is theme related, then it's possible the 1.33 version wasn't linked with the proper button library and that the correct library had this bug in it that I hadn't seen when using the IDE compiler.

I'm still waiting to hear (in another thread) if the other theme-related issue with backspacing in edit boxes is fixed or not. That might also help me determine which library was/is messed up.


Last edited by Zugg on Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
Fuego Ledrey
Wanderer


Joined: 09 May 2007
Posts: 64
Location: Dustin Acres, California

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:55 pm   
 
I see the problem with and without variables.
_________________
EDIT: Image moved to Avatar FINALLY.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:31 pm   
 
Ahh, ok, I found out why it changed in 1.33->1.34. I had modified my button component when I was working on zExplorer last month to reduce some flickering problems. I changed the button to buffer its drawing to a bitmap image, which is then drawn on the screen.

Apparently, the Windows API call DrawTextEx with the DT_END_ELLIPSIS flag isn't working properly with this bitmap canvas. I'm looking into why this isn't working, but at least now I understand how it could change with this recompile.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:40 pm   
 
Found the problem. There were two calls to DrawTextEx...one to compute the text rectangle, and one to draw the text. The first call to compute the text rectangle was in a helper function that was always using the canvas handle (HDC) of the button control itself, instead of using the intermediate bitmap handle used for double-buffering. I changed the helper function to accept a different canvas handle argument and passed it the bitmap and now it works on the new version here.

I don't really want to release a whole new version just for this, but if I release any other intermediate versions before the big 2.0 release, then you'll get this fix.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:58 pm   
 
OK, I changed my mind. I think I found the problem causing the editbox corruption, so I'm releasing a new version of 1.34. This version will also have the button ellipses problem fixed.
Reply with quote
Arminas
Wizard


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1265
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:32 pm   
 
Sweet, when I installed the first 1.34 it GAVE me the ellipses. I did tests to see what letters caused it was about to post them and tell people to write in caps and when I log in you have the issue fixed!

Installed the new 1.34 and it fixed them.

Cheers Zugg
_________________
Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram
Reply with quote
Dharkael
Enchanter


Joined: 05 Mar 2003
Posts: 593
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:38 pm   
 
That's good work Zugg.
I loved the ongoing updates and the big clinch for the solution.
Very exciting stuff :p
_________________
-Dharkael-
"No matter how subtle the wizard, a knife between the shoulder blades will seriously cramp his style."
Reply with quote
Fuego Ledrey
Wanderer


Joined: 09 May 2007
Posts: 64
Location: Dustin Acres, California

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:40 pm   
 
Just downloaded the NEW v1.34 and it did indeed fix the button ellipses, go you!
_________________
EDIT: Image moved to Avatar FINALLY.
Reply with quote
Arminas
Wizard


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1265
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 2:18 am   
 
Sorry to say this but I was checking on the button text refresh issue posted a bit ago and I found that this problem had reared its ugly head again.

In that example I created a toggle button. The name of the first state was x the name of the second state was y.

Save the button and click it. The x displays correctly the y has the ellipsis...
_________________
Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 2:49 am   
 
Sorry Arminas, but I can't reproduce any problem with this now. I just followed your instructions and it worked fine here.
Reply with quote
Arminas
Wizard


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1265
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:04 pm   
 
Hrm... Looks like I still have the old 1.34 at home. Apologies, I am usually on the forums at work these days I'll make certain to update my computer at home and try again.

It worked fine for me at work so.
_________________
Arminas, The Invisible horseman
Windows 7 Pro 32 bit
AMD 64 X2 2.51 Dual Core, 2 GB of Ram
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net