Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum
Larkin
Wizard


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1113
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 7:38 pm   

[1.33] #MODULE doesn't always direct settings to specified module
 
I started with a fresh, clean installation and a fresh, clean profile.

I created text scripts to make modules (not inside packages, just in my main package for now) and populate them with settings.

Importing the scripts for the first two modules, even multiple times back and forth, worked wonderfully. The first time created the modules and populated them with settings. The subsequent times removed the class folders (using #DELCLASS /FolderName) and re-created everything right where expected.

I connected to a server, using #SESSION, and created a third script to populate a new module just as the first two. This third module was created, but all the settings were inserted into other modules, seemingly random and regardless of class names matching other existing class names.

Can anyone tell me why the #MODULE command would not convince CMUD that's where my following settings should go?

(Sample generic text, to give an idea of how I create modules:)
Code:
#MODULE "Module One"

#DELCLASS /FolderName

#CLASS FolderName enable
#ALIAS blah {#SAY meh}
#TRIGGER {meh} {#SAY ick}
#CLASS 0

#MODULE 0

#SAY "Import complete"
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23379
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:04 pm   
 
I couldn't get the above example to fail. Are you entering this text into the command line for a window that is in the same package as "Module One"? Are you maybe doing this from the generic editor window instead of the command line?
Reply with quote
Larkin
Wizard


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1113
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:05 pm   
 
I did this from the command line, copying and pasting in several scripts with the same above general format. If more than one module has the same class name, the scope is not changed by the #MODULE command as I would expect. For example, this creates all settings in "Module One" when I execute it in a blank session:

Code:
#MODULE "Module One"

#DELCLASS /FolderName

#CLASS FolderName enable
#ALIAS blah {#SAY meh}
#TRIGGER {meh} {#SAY ick}
#CLASS 0

#MODULE 0

#MODULE "Module Two"

#DELCLASS /FolderName

#CLASS FolderName enable
#ALIAS boo {#SAY haha}
#TRIGGER {whee} {#SAY ouch}
#CLASS 0

#MODULE 0

#SAY "Import complete"


I've tried specifying the module in the #DELCLASS commands (i.e., #DELCLASS "//Module One/FolderName"), and that helps a little sometimes but the problem still remains even then. Putting the full path into the #CLASS command, however, does seem to workaround this, so that's what I'm using now.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD Beta Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net