|
Asilient_1 Apprentice
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:39 pm
Statbars, etc. (Cmud 1.30 bug?) |
Hey, guys. Been using Cmud for a few days after switching over from Zmud (I started a blank settings file for Cmud to start over.) and I've encountered a few things I can't work out myself.
First of all, I added a status bar through the package edit. (It doesn't show up at all.) I've nosed around as much as I could and have not seen -anything- that might be wrong. Is there anything I may have missed?
Second, I've heard a little about modules, and the help file simply implies their exactly the same as classes, just a different name. Could anyone update the truth on this?
Sorry I can't be too much more detailed right now.
EDIT: Also #VARIABLE variable value/{value} does not appear to be altering variables accordingly. |
|
|
|
Fang Xianfu GURU
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 5155 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:17 pm |
Modules aren't classes. They're a sort of "Super class" - all classes, settings, everything (except windows, see below) have to be inside a module, and modules can only be created at the root level. They're included so you can group similar scripts with similar purposes together, and also so you can choose to share only part of your settings from a package with other settings in other packages. You won't need to use separate packages unless you're going to distribute your scripts, but modules can still be useful to keep scripts with different purposes separate.
Windows, really, are just modules with a graphical part associated with them, and settings inside a window aren't shared with any other settings.
About the status bar - do you mean that the Status Bar item you created through New-Status Bar isn't appearing in the package editor, or the text that you typed into the body of the Status Bar item isn't appearing the graphical status bar like it should?
Finally, there've been no bugs associated with "#var name value" that I can remember - they'd be pretty serious I think. If you show us the script you're using we could help further. |
|
|
|
Tech GURU
Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:42 pm |
Also make sure you check the check box at the bottom of the Status Item to indicate if you want it displayed to the Status line or the Status window.
Note: If you have more than one pointing each, the last one loaded is the one displayed. |
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
|
Asilient_1 Apprentice
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 5:02 pm |
Fang Xianfu wrote: |
Modules aren't classes. They're a sort of "Super class" - all classes, settings, everything (except windows, see below) have to be inside a module, and modules can only be created at the root level. They're included so you can group similar scripts with similar purposes together, and also so you can choose to share only part of your settings from a package with other settings in other packages. You won't need to use separate packages unless you're going to distribute your scripts, but modules can still be useful to keep scripts with different purposes separate.
Windows, really, are just modules with a graphical part associated with them, and settings inside a window aren't shared with any other settings.
About the status bar - do you mean that the Status Bar item you created through New-Status Bar isn't appearing in the package editor, or the text that you typed into the body of the Status Bar item isn't appearing the graphical status bar like it should?
Finally, there've been no bugs associated with "#var name value" that I can remember - they'd be pretty serious I think. If you show us the script you're using we could help further. |
When I create a new status bar, the text I put in isn't showing up. (Yes, I have it "show on status bar checked."
The code is straightforward resetting of variables through an alias, along these lines:
Code: |
#VARIABLE blind 1
#VARIABLE deaf 1
#VARIABLE discharge 1 |
Which changes some variables, but not others.
However, it seem to work when I put it like this:
Code: |
blind=1
deaf=1
discharge=1 |
While if one works, it's fine, it just irks me since #VARIABLE is tidier (To my mind.) |
|
|
|
Fang Xianfu GURU
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 5155 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 5:54 pm |
One thing I noticed just now with status items is that they don't like having their option changed once they've been saved. If your status bar item was ever a status window item, delete it and recreate it.
|
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 6:23 pm |
I cannot reproduce any problem with the #VAR command. In fact, the "#VAR varname value" and "varname=value" syntax use the exact same code in CMUD to store the value, so I can't think of any reason they would work differently. Make sure you don't have the variables defined in some other class that might be getting changed...CMUD searches all of your classes for any variable that matches the name.
For the status bar, be sure you are putting the text you want displayed into the Value field in the editor. Only the Value is displayed in the status bar (the Name is just an ID value that can be used to enabled/disable the status item). I just did this:
1) Ran CMUD, closed the Sessions window, clicked the Settings button in the toolbar
2) Selected StatusBar from the New drop-down menu to create a new statusbar item
3) Entered "Hello world" into the Value field
4) Clicked the Save Changes...the "Hello world" text was then displayed in the status bar.
So, it seems to work fine from here. |
|
|
|
Asilient_1 Apprentice
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 12:11 pm |
Yeah, the problem was as you described with the status bar. Silly mistake on my part.
Still having the problem with #VAR, but I can work around it.
Thanks, to those of you who helped. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|