Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
charneus
Wizard


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1876
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:11 am   

Could you explain this?
 
It's a weird thing - don't know if it's a bug (and if it is, I won't look forward to it being fixed, as Zugg is working on CMUD now...) or not, but here goes.

I have the following alias. It's to help me with my capture script:

Code:

#ALIAS tell {#IF (%1="-h") {tellcap=0;~tell -h} {~tell %0}}


Now, theoretically it should work. But it doesn't. It -still- captures what I don't want it to. And to top it off, when I type #show %alias(tell), it returns:
Code:


#IF (="-h") {
  tellcap=0
  ~tell -h
  } {~tell #IF (="-h") {
  tellcap=0
  ~tell -h
  } {~tell #IF (="-h") {
  tellcap=0
  ~tell -h
  } {~tell #IF (="-h") {
  tellcap=0
  ~tell -h
  }
................. *repeats the above pattern SEVERAL times, then ends with...*
 {~tell %alias(tell}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}


Now I'm not sure what's going on, but when I look in settings, it's the way it should read. So, what's going on here? Anyone care to venture a guess? Thanks. :)

Charneus


Last edited by charneus on Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:35 am; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
Guinn
Wizard


Joined: 03 Mar 2001
Posts: 1127
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:30 am   
 
Doesn't surprise me that it looks to be looping

#ALIAS tell {#IF (%1="-h") {tellcap=0;~tell -h} {tell %0}}

Your else statement is {tell %0}, which would then run the tel alias again. Sure you didn't want it to be {~tell %0}?
_________________
CMUD Pro, Windows Vista x64
Core2 Q6600, 4GB RAM, GeForce 8800GT
Because you need it for text... ;)
Reply with quote
charneus
Wizard


Joined: 19 Jun 2005
Posts: 1876
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:36 am   
 
Yeah, I realized that when I posted it. I didn't copy/paste on that, and I forgot to type the extra ~ there. It's correct in my settings though - I just double-checked it. Still loops like that. *shrug*

Charneus
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net