Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account

Play RetroMUD
Fang Xianfu
GURU

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:28 pm   

=~ and %%1

I've never used this syntax before, so maybe I'm using it wrong. Here's what I'm trying to do:

Alias name: test
Code:
#if (%2 =~ "(%d)") {#echo NUMBER %%1 %2};#if (%2 =~ "(%w)") {#echo WORD %%1 %2}

When I input

test blah 97928

I expect this output:

NUMBER 97928 97928

but what I get is this:

NUMBER %%1 97928

Obviously the match is working, but the parameter's not being expanded. Am I doing this wrong?

-------

Secondly, when I input this on the command line:

#alias test {#if (%2 =~ "(%d)") {#echo NUMBER %%1 %2};#if (%2 =~ "(%w)") {#echo WORD %%1 %2}}

the code that ended up in the value box was this:

Code:
#if (%2 =~"") {#echo NUMBER  %2};#if (%2 =~"") {#echo WORD  %2}

Even weirder: I ran the alias command immediately above to create the alias, realised it had gone wrong somehow and manually edited the script to match what I'd intended. I ran it as I described in the previous example and then deleted the setting. When I ran that same alias command again to recreate the alias and see if it'd do it again, I got this:

Code:
#if (%2 =~"97928 ") {#echo NUMBER  %2};#if (%2 =~"97928 ") {#echo WORD  %2}

So am I doing something wrong or is there a bug here?

-----

EDIT: There's definitely a bug here. I tried this code straight from the #if help file:

#var line {You receive 29672896 coins}
#IF (@line =~ "You receive (%d) coins") {split %%1}

and "split %%1" was sent.
Vijilante
SubAdmin

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:48 pm   

I think the =~ pattern operator might have been removed entirely from CMud. If it wasn't then it should be.

Use %match instead.
Tech
GURU

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:54 pm   

Fang... I think you've forget that the %% syntax isn't used in CMUD anymore, and the example in the help file is a carry over form zMUD.

I'm not exactly sure how you'd go about accessing it though.

[edit]