Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
Guinn
Wizard


Joined: 03 Mar 2001
Posts: 1127
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:07 pm   

zMUD and Microsoft Vista (Access violation at 0x7792785B)
 

Quote:
Error: Access violation at 0x7792785B (tried to write to 0x00EE0FFC), program terminated.


If you see this screen when trying to open zMUD in Vista then you should run zMUD as an administrator.
This is done by right-clicking the zMUD icon and selecting 'Run as Administrator'

It's also possible to tell Vista to always run zMUD as an Administrator.
To do this:
- Browse to the folder you installed zMUD into (probably C:\Program Files\zMUD)
- Right-click on zMUD.exe and select 'Properties' from the menu that appears.
- In the box that appears, click the 'Compatibility' tab at the top
- Now check the box that says 'Run this program as an administrator'



Click Apply, and OK

This happens because of the Vista 'User Access Control' feature and occurs even if the user you're using has admin rights. One way to prevent this is to disable UAC (something Microsoft doesn't recommend).

This problem does not occurs in CMUD.
_________________
CMUD Pro, Windows Vista x64
Core2 Q6600, 4GB RAM, GeForce 8800GT
Because you need it for text... ;)

Last edited by Guinn on Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23377
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 5:49 pm   
 
Also, just a reminder to anyone reading this who is running Vista:

Remember that CMUD is our new MUD client for Vista. zMUD is not officially supported on Vista, so you are on your own with it. For more information on CMUD, go to http://www.zuggsoft.com/cmud or visit the CMUD Discussion Forum.
Reply with quote
Orchid
Beginner


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 10
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 4:30 pm   
 
other than that are there other issues with Zmud/Vista?
Reply with quote
ralgith
Sorcerer


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 715

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:16 pm   
 
I've been using zMUD on Vista with no issues at all since I got this laptop a year ago February. Sometimes it gets an Exception Error when closing it, but it still closes cleanly.
_________________
CrossOver: Windows Compatibility on Mac and Linux CMUD Advocate
Reply with quote
Fang Xianfu
GURU


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 5155
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:39 pm   
 
You may encounter other problems, especially if you install zMUD in your Program Files directory. Have a search.
_________________
Rorso's syntax colouriser.

- Happy bunny is happy! (1/25)
Reply with quote
ralgith
Sorcerer


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 715

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:48 am   
 
I should note, I have UAC disabled and a lot of tweaks on my system. So yes, take note of what Fang has said.
_________________
CrossOver: Windows Compatibility on Mac and Linux CMUD Advocate
Reply with quote
Orchid
Beginner


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 10
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:10 pm   Search?
 
It is in the program files...what would I see if there was an issue? Could I put it somewhere else then to avoid the problem?
Reply with quote
Fang Xianfu
GURU


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 5155
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 5:12 pm   
 
Yes, you could. I can't remember what the exact issue is, but it's something to do with the local store, isn't it? Someone with Vista would probably remember. Try searching the forums.
_________________
Rorso's syntax colouriser.

- Happy bunny is happy! (1/25)
Reply with quote
ralgith
Sorcerer


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 715

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:29 pm   
 
Yes, it is issues with the virtual store crap, and the best place to install is to (DriveLetter):\zMUD. I prefer some drive OTHER than your root system drive, but if thats all you have there ya go.
_________________
CrossOver: Windows Compatibility on Mac and Linux CMUD Advocate
Reply with quote
Neladin
Newbie


Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 2:04 pm   
 
delete please. Reloaded into new folder and problem solved itself.
Reply with quote
sv650s
Newbie


Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 7:34 am   
 
Hey guys. I don't have the compatibility tab.... ????
Reply with quote
sv650s
Newbie


Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 7:38 am   
 
ahh I found it, thanks.
Reply with quote
Blain20
Beginner


Joined: 27 Aug 2010
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:10 pm   
 
I know this is old, but I wanted to stay on topic.

I am a Wizard for a MUD, and I write code offline and paste into the zMUD command bar on Vista (I run it as Administrator in C:\Program Files). I sometimes paste up to 1,000 lines at a time, but usually only up to 500. Sometimes I get this error at the very moment I paste my text into the bar. If this occurs, I start getting the error often until I completely close/open zMUD again. I simply kill the program from Task Manager and this has never been more than just annoying.

Another error that will pop up seems to come out of nowhere and causes a loop of error alert pop-ups. Again, I can usually get to Task Manager to kill it, so it's just annoying sometimes.
Reply with quote
Zugg
MASTER


Joined: 25 Sep 2000
Posts: 23377
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:53 pm   
 
Sorry but zMUD is no longer being updated. If you want bug fixes like this, you need to use CMUD.
Reply with quote
Blain20
Beginner


Joined: 27 Aug 2010
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 12:00 am   
 
So long as I know it's just an issue between zMUD and Vista, I'm fine. I plan to try getting used to CMUD once I install Win7 on my new HDD for this laptop. =) I was hoping for some kludgy quick-fix in the meantime. I already bought CMUD but couldn't take the time to get accustomed to it back when I bought it.

Thanks for wonderful products, Zugg!
Reply with quote
Scull
Newbie


Joined: 19 Feb 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:14 am   
 
Zugg wrote:
Sorry but zMUD is no longer being updated. If you want bug fixes like this, you need to use CMUD.


Since I already bought zMud long time ago, and since you have stopped updating zMud. Do I get cMud free?
Apparently zMud has not been cooperating with my win7.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 3513
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:56 am   
 
I believe it may be discounted for you, but that may have been a promotional offer that has since expired.
_________________
Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Phenom II x6 1055T 2.8GHz 16GB
CMUD Pro v3.34
Reply with quote
mannii
Newbie


Joined: 28 Oct 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:12 pm   
 
It's also possible to tell Vista to always run zMUD as an Administrator.




_______________________
http://www.vcefile.net/open-vce-files.php
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net