Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
pronub
Newbie


Joined: 19 Dec 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:51 am   

COMADO/SQL Database Troubles...
 
Ok, im using COMADO to connect to a MS SQL Express database using ODBC on windows xp SP2...

I'm using the following (and i've tried MANY variations of everything...) to retreive data from a database of items...

Quote:
#VAR Conn %comcreate( "ADODB.connection")
#noop @Conn.Open( "mysql")
;
#var rs %comcreate("ADODB.recordset")
#noop @rs.open("select * from eqdb where name like '%stuff%'", @conn)
;
#say @rs.recordcount


despite this returning multiple items, two, AND being able to use:

Quote:
#while (!@rs.eof) {#say @rs.Fields(name ).Value
#noop @rs.movenext}


to show individual items, the recordcount comes out as -1... Is it not correctly making a recordset?

Also, I need to know how to display individual parts of the data once it's in a record set...

Using zmud's database and syntax as an example, i could search for an item, then in way of formatting the text to make it look pretty i could go:

Quote:
#echo Name:&name, Level:&level, Type:&type... etc


So, to use what i know to try and explain, something like:

Quote:
#echo Name:@rs.fields( "name"), Level:@rs.fields( "level"), Type:@rs.fields( "type")... etc


I can show any ONE column, but not multiple together, and not really as freely as i need. I need it to be as free as the zmud syntax (as in i can call the value at will to use in if's and the like) so i can code a whole heap of checks in to not display blank fields and fields i dont want to show... Having a generic format is no good, you dont wanna see damage dice and average on armor do you?

Eventually i need to be able to count how many results are returned, if it's within a certain limit, display just the names of each item so you can refine your search, and if only one item is returned, display the data in a nice format as per above.

Thanks for any help
Reply with quote
Seb
Wizard


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 1241

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:20 am   Re: COMADO/SQL Database Troubles...
 
pronub wrote:
Ok, im using COMADO to connect to a MS SQL Express database using ODBC on windows xp SP2...

Quote:
#VAR Conn %comcreate( "ADODB.connection")
#noop @Conn.Open( "mysql")


So which is it? MS SQL Express or mysql?
Reply with quote
Strakc
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:24 am   
 
isn't MS SQL Express the same as mysql?
Reply with quote
Seb
Wizard


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 1241

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:03 am   
 
I can't work out if you joking or not, so I'll just say "No"!
Reply with quote
pronub
Newbie


Joined: 19 Dec 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:12 pm   
 
Um, i -did- mention i'm using ODBC... "mysql" is what i called my ODBC connection... perhaps an inappropriate name, but completely irrelevant...
Reply with quote
Strakc
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:55 pm   
 
And no I wasn't kidding, I dont really know why Mysql is or Sql beyond the point that they are databases?
Reply with quote
Rainchild
Wizard


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 1551
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:04 pm   
 
Please see my post/faq here: http://forums.zuggsoft.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=13491 about SQL server... it works the same in CMUD as it does in ZMUD.
Reply with quote
Seb
Wizard


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 1241

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:06 am   
 
Er, yes "Mysql" is a pretty misleading name, given that it is the name of the most commonly used database engine on the internet. That's why I was asking for clarification. And because I know that Mysql behaves differently to MS-SQL Server when it comes to 'rowcount'...
Reply with quote
Seb
Wizard


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 1241

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:14 am   
 
One way of verifying whether it is a database or ADO (MDAC) problem, or whether the problem in CMUD, is to basically convert your zScript into some other language like ASP / VBScript / JScript and see if you get recordcount working there... Also, did you try it in zMUD?
Reply with quote
Rainchild
Wizard


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 1551
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 5:12 am   
 
Also, rowcount is often not available/implemented for a lot of database types (something to do with cursors and fetch on demand stuff on the database server).

You should be able to do a select count(*) from table where <clause> to get the rowcount if it is vital, but the usual way to query a recordset is a while !eof / movenext type thing, you can always increment a variable inside the while loop to keep track of how many records were returned.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net