Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
jluce7
Beginner


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 7:12 pm   

LCDStudio and ZMUD
 
Background:
Using latest Zmud (7.22 I think it is) and just got a Logitech G15 keyboard with the LCD display which is configurable using LCDStudio.

I was wondering if anyone knew how to get variables from my character in ZMUD into LCDStudio? I would like to track certain things and this LCD would be perfect for that (track how many arrows I have, how many sips of health elixir, etc). I would imagine it would be using COM stuff, but I never messed with it and am below amateur at programming so if someone could break it down, I'd love ya fer evva.
Reply with quote
megamike
Newbie


Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 10:21 am   g15 & zmud
 
I just got a g15 keyboard myself, after a little messing around i have been able to get pretty much anything I want sent to the lcd. I havn't been able to get it to work with lcd studio yet though.
what you need
triggers that send information to the clipboard with the %clip command
lcdclipboard (available form g15forums.com in the downloads section
and all the usual drivers/keyboard profile software installed.

works like a charm
~mike
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4672
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:49 am   
 
Hmm i just got the g15 myself.
Im still struggling to program my own LCD mod for it.
The lcdclipboard mod will shove some data onto the screen, but seems rather limited in usability when compared to some of the other fancy mods out there.

Does anyone know a way for outside programs to referance a zMUD variable?
I don't need to change the value of it, i just want to display the current value.

P.S. It would be cool if CMUD came with its own mod and an LCD splash screen.
_________________
Discord: Shalimarwildcat
Reply with quote
Taz
GURU


Joined: 28 Sep 2000
Posts: 1395
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 11:38 am   
 
Access a zMUD variable through COM.
_________________
Taz :)
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4672
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 12:01 pm   
 
I dont suppose you could give an example?
_________________
Discord: Shalimarwildcat
Reply with quote
Kjata
GURU


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 4379
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 12:11 pm   
 
To expand a bit more on what Taz said, the exact way to access a COM object depends on the particular language you are using. However, the general outline of what you need to do is:

1. Create a COM object for the class name "Zmud.Application". This should return to you an object of type zMudClass.
2. Access the CurrentSession property of the object you got in order to retrieve the session of zMUD that is open. This should return to you an object of type zMudSession.
3. Call the GetVar method of the session object with the name and class name of the variable you want to access. This should return to you an object of type zMUDVar.
4. Access the Value property of the variable object to read its contents.

More information with examples in Visual Basic can be found here.
_________________
Kjata
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net