|
gamma_ray Magician
Joined: 17 Apr 2005 Posts: 496
|
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 4:37 am
Case problems with databases/dbput. |
I have a database which contains (among other things) an option list (Clans) and a single option (Bloodline), both of which have the "allow other" box checked. I'm populating the database from a capture script which stores everything into database variable and then uses #dbput to update the database.
The script does a #show on the database variable right before it puts it into the database and it looks fine at that point. A simple database variable looks like thus:
Code: |
Name = Kya
Gender = Female
Race = Ssylsin
Birthday = 462-03-02
RankedImperian = 0
Cityrank = 1
City = Khandava
ExplorerRank = 1
Clans = The Shared Grove |
And here's a more complicated example:
Code: |
Name = Elyse
Gender = Female
Race = Norrjin
Birthday = 383-09-20
Bloodline = Bharathian
RankedImperian = 78
RankedQuesting = 171
RankedBashing = 89
RankedPlayerkilling = 329
CombatRating = 100
ExplorerRank = 15
Fishing = 9
Clans = Bharathian|Followers of peace|The Pantheon of Antioch
Mentor = 1
QHonors = 1 |
The problem is that when I look at it in the database the "bloodline" and "clans" fields are all completely lowercased, e.g. "the shared grove", or "bharathian". The only thing I can do to fix it is to go in and manually edit the options list to have the correct words uppercased, which would be far too long of a task for this DB.
Anyone have any suggestions, or need more examples? |
|
|
|
Vijilante SubAdmin
Joined: 18 Nov 2001 Posts: 5182
|
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 9:00 am |
Option lists only support 31 values. I would suggest adding a new field (memo or text type) to your database to transfer the Clans field information into then use a script to make the update to all the records. After that you can delete your Clans field and rename the new field to Clans. You may have to do the same with the Bloodlines field, since this also might exceed the 31 limit.
|
|
_________________ The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums |
|
|
|
gamma_ray Magician
Joined: 17 Apr 2005 Posts: 496
|
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 4:47 pm |
Hmm, thanks, I didn't know that and I've switched over as I definitely would have run out. I'm still interested in hearing if anyone has a solution to the case problem, though, just for future reference.
|
|
|
|
|
|