|
Dodgester Wanderer
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 65
|
Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 5:41 am
Database and Automapper |
I'm not a new user, but rather a user that has only started back to using zMUD after the various issues that I have had in the past year or 2, which has been to such extent that I had to do the "End Task" in XP to get anywhere after disconnecting from a site.
One of the biggest issues I have had in the past, I attempted to create a DB environment, and it appears that the DB side of things has been changed around, which makes me wonder if my added in tables and fields from within Access would work out too well. Not only that, but in previous versions, I could not use both the DB and Automapper. I could use only one or the other, not both. I would like to know if that is still a known issue under the current version, and if it's not an issue anymore, can I create multiple tables and still be within the same DB file?
Here's what I would really like to do, which is what I wanted to do from the beginning:
Have a map out of the site (Pretty much have this)
Have a table of the different mobiles, and link them to areas/rooms (typically, where they start out when the area is reset)
Have a table of the various object, and have them linked to mobiles.
One of the other issues that I had problems in the past are triggers not working properly. At this time, I can't say if that is still the case as it appears that they are working properly, but until I get further along into the game, I still hold reserve on this issue that I had in the past. It was an issue that wasn't so easy to pick up on the pattern other than I know what generally tended to cause the problem, but even when following through with those steps, it wasn't 100% repeatable, and a lot of peoploe got after me about not providing enough information, which then after that, it drove me away from the site, and even drove me away from using the program, but then part of that was also cause the mud site also had changed rather significantly to the point that it was rather too tough to get around, but now it's back to at least within reason, though still on the tough side. I don't mind it being tough, but not to the point that you are basically going at a really slow crawl and you are more or less dying a lot cause of it being so tough that only 1% of the users can make it through, thus you also have a very low participation.
While the mud changes and the experience I had from here were about at the same time, it was incidental that they happened about the same time. Since that time, I have been working on a project of my own in addition to the hours that I been working each week (60+ hours) at employment, so needless to say, I also haven't had a lot of time to play either.
I know when I am asked by my users of issues that they are having, usually it's resoved via the phone convo, if we are in different places. However, there are those minor occassions when something happens, and I don't have an explanation or a reason why it's happening, so I may ask them to email me a copy of the file, so as I can look at it and test it out, so as to see what may be causing the problem. When it gets to this point, I normally am able to resolve it as I have resolved the issues probably at least 95% of the time when had to be taken to this step. If I can't resolve it, it may be due to some sort of limitation, which then I will state what the limitation is and what source that information came from, which then often times, we (the managers and I) come up with work arounds to such issues.
Sincerely,
Dodgester |
|
|
|
Dodgester Wanderer
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 65
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:54 am |
I'm glad to see that the DB is finally working along with the AutoMapper, at least to the extent that I can enter stuff into the DB and it not get lost like what happened in prior versions when the AutoMapper was in use. I still would like to be able to have a mob table in addition to an eq table, so as I can store some additional things about the mob while being able to link the mob to the room within the automapper, and then the eq to the mob.
Sincerely,
Dodgester |
|
|
|
Tech GURU
Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 12:29 pm |
You can create your own mob table, but you'll have to manage all the linking yourself.
|
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
|
Dodgester Wanderer
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 65
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 7:49 pm |
I don't mind that so much, but I would like to be able to have all 3 open, mob table, eq table, and automapper. I don't necessarily need to have the eq table and the mob table visible, but at least open to the extent that I can retrieve it relatively quickly like a multi-relational DB program. Speaking of which, is there a way that I can export the information to an MDB file format and then back into zMUD's DB file format? If so, how can it be relatively easily done?
Sincerely,
Dodgester |
|
|
|
Tech GURU
Joined: 18 Oct 2000 Posts: 2733 Location: Atlanta, USA
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 8:23 pm |
Hmmm.. that I'm not sure about. I know the databases were MDB compatible but they were switched to MySQL for speed.
To be able to export the command your easiest bet is to View --> Export on the database window and export the tab delimited file; then import your updates back in to the DB. A slightly more difficult, but likely cleaner approach is to setup an ODBC connection to your DB files and access them via SQL from your database program of choice.
As for having multiple db's open, it sounds like you want to have the automapper open; then your eq and mob tables loaded programattically with the #DBLOAD command. |
|
_________________ Asati di tempari! |
|
|
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|