|
Risca Beginner
Joined: 19 Nov 2003 Posts: 16 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:11 pm
Update Location in Mapper (Teleport?) |
My problem is trying to tell the zmud mapper to move the current position to another room based on the output of the mud.
I would like to move my current position 'Pantheon Center by a monument' to Corvin at 'Kinsarmar Crossroads.' I thought of using a couple of triggers and teleport, but I'm a little stuck on where to begin and solve this problem.
Track lets you go to another outdoor location, assuming you are flying.
Below is the prompt on flying.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
H:278 M:352 E:801 W:1862 <eb> fly
You begin to flap your wings powerfully, and rise quickly up into the
firmament.
Flying above Pantheon Center by a monument.
The streets curve to meet at this point before a great marble porch that serves
as the gateway to the Academy of Celidon. A path of steps that shine in the
light of the sun and moon lead towards the cave entrance that has been
converted into one of the most important structures of the Council. The ground
is always in the most pristine condition that is possible for a cavern floor.
Large clay pots sit at the end of each step, brimming with primrose and orphine
that mingle among the tulips and ferns, a delightful sight to the eyes.
You see exits leading east, southwest, northwest, and in.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To use the 'Track' skill, the command is "TRACK <person>"
However, there is an added ability called 'View.' View lets you see all the players outdoors for tracking. Sometimes, it spans multiple pages and you have to type MORE.
SHORTENED VIEW
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
H:278 M:352 E:800 W:1862 <eb f> view
You see Galadan at Aryana's Spring.
You see Juran at High above the clouds.
Type MORE to continue reading. (64% shown)
H:278 M:352 E:796 W:1861 <eb f> more
You see Martyn at Dead end on the Via Incola.
You see Landus at Merchant's Circle and the Parade of Rathad.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
When I find a target I want to track, the output is below.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
You track Arcane Academician, Corvin, Acolyte to Kinsarmar Crossroads.
Flying above Kinsarmar Crossroads.
South Circle meets the end of Guards Approach and continues up the hill as the
Parade of Rathad, making a meeting place and Crossroads for the city. The
cobbles are worn by heavy travel, and the ground has been leveled here,
providing an easy turning point for those descending or ascending the hill.
Tall houses follow each road on its path, all of gray stone and sound
structure, though to prevent a drab look, each has its own method of
decoration. On the northwestern corner of the Crossroads stands a particularly
large house's wall, and into its side green colored stones have been worked in
with the others, forming a rune of some sort that overlooks this meeting place.
You see exits leading north, east, south, and west.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
|
|
|
nexela Wizard
Joined: 15 Jan 2002 Posts: 1644 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:50 pm |
More acurate:
#TR track {You track * to *.} {}
#COND {Flying above (*)} {
#TELEPORT %item(%mapquery({[Name] = '%replace("%1","'","''")'}),1)
} {within|param=1}
OR easier to understand:
#TR track {You track * to (*).} {#TELE %mapquery({[NAME] = '%1'})}
The first example is the better one to use the second one is there to show you the simplest way it also more prone to failures:P |
|
|
|
Risca Beginner
Joined: 19 Nov 2003 Posts: 16 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:43 pm |
I wasn't able to get your suggestion to work, nexela. However, I do understand what you're trying to do by using the mapquery function.
Correct me if I'm wrong, I would encounter a problem if the location spanned to the next line even if I did get it to work.
For example:
You track Master Taekyon Combatant Rechar Reopev, Wolf of Manoa to Outside the
shattered walls of the coliseum.
Would it be easier if I used the VIEW feature and stored the names and room names in a string list, then use that to set my position on the map correctly? Granted I would have to use it all the time to move myself on the map properly, it's an inconvenience I could live with.
Now thinking about it, I realized an even bigger problem would be locations with the same room name. |
|
|
|
nexela Wizard
Joined: 15 Jan 2002 Posts: 1644 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 1:24 am |
Ok I threw that together without so much as a backwards glance so its prone to errors :P
but no spanning multiple won't be too much of a problem just requires tweaking
If someone doesn't get to it before I get back on (about 6-10 hours) I'll whip up something that works and even possibly handles room descs too |
|
|
|
nexela Wizard
Joined: 15 Jan 2002 Posts: 1644 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 3:57 pm |
#CALL %roommode( 1)
#TR track {^You track} {}
#COND {^Flying above (*)} {}
#COND {(*)} {#TELEPORT %item( %mapquery( {[Name] like '%char( 37)%replace( "%t1", "'", "''")%char( 37)'} AND [Desc] like '%char( 37)%replace( "%1", "'", "''")%char( 37)'), 1)}
Used Pretty Print
Syntax Colourizer |
|
|
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|