|
Serentus Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2001 Posts: 103 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 7:19 am
Default Values for DataRecord variables |
I'm wanting to keep my defenses in Data Record type variable like this.
@Insomnia.State
@Insomnia.Desire
@Insomnia.AnotherRecord
@Insomnia.StillAnother
etc.
How can I enter a default value for these. I need to have .State and .Desire set to 0 when ever I startup.
I tried putting State=0|Desire=0 and some variations of that but that didn't seem to work. |
|
|
|
Timas Novice
Joined: 05 Jan 2003 Posts: 39 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 12:37 pm |
I've noticed that you need to do "#VAR yourVar.dataField value" if you want to set those fields. So, instead of "@status = A" do "#VAR status A".
After that its ABC, put the two lines below in your atconnect alias and your set.
#VAR Insomnia.state 0
#VAR Insomnia.desire 0 |
|
|
|
Serentus Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2001 Posts: 103 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 1:09 pm |
Thanks for input, but doing the
#VAR Insomnia.state 0
#VAR Insomnia.desire 0
in an alias called by atconnect is what i'm doing now. It's cubersome because there are 8 fields in each variable and 30+ variables. Plus using the Atconnect dosen't run automaticly when i'm working offline.
I was looking for a way to set up default values like you can for normal variables, by filling in the "Default:" Edit box. |
|
|
|
Timas Novice
Joined: 05 Jan 2003 Posts: 39 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 3:09 pm |
I think the default setting is for single string variables.. maybe there is an option but I don't know about it, sorry :)
|
|
|
|
nexela Wizard
Joined: 15 Jan 2002 Posts: 1644 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 4:33 pm |
Atconnect can be called just like a regular alias if thats any help at all :P
|
|
|
|
LightBulb MASTER
Joined: 28 Nov 2000 Posts: 4817 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:48 pm |
Create the variable with the desired default values. Then use the following command, at the command line, to insert those values to the Default field.
#VAR Insomnia {@Insomnia} {@Insomnia} |
|
|
|
Serentus Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2001 Posts: 103 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 1:05 pm |
Thanks Lightbulb! That did the trick.
I was hoping someone would know, and i figured if anyone did, you would. I have seen you use alot of record variables in your posts. That's acually what gave me the idea for using them. And they work great.
Edit:Typos |
|
|
|
|
|