|
horks Apprentice
Joined: 20 Jul 2001 Posts: 127 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 3:46 am
Changing Button Captions |
Hey guys.
Small problem, I thought it'd be simple, but I'm stumped.
Basically, I have a button being used as a gauge for a skill. I want to open up my scripts to a few friends, but some skills they use are opposite to mine. For each skill there are only two options, so I want to be able to click on the button/gauge and change the caption and values of the gauge to the other skill.
for example:
one of the skills is Footsoldiery, the opposite is Horsemanship. I use footsoldiery, so I want the caption to read:
Code: |
@fskl-F: @fskd (@fsk)
|
(variables just define different earnings of the skill. Just note they all start with an "F" for footsoldiery )
I want to be able to click on the gauge, and have it switch the caption to:
Code: |
@hskl-H: @hskd (@hsk)
|
This is as far as I got.
Code: |
#if (@fhBtnState="foot") {
#bu fhBtn {<font color="green"><i>switch cap & cur/max guage values</i></font id="green">}
#var fhBtnState {horse}
}
{
#bu fhBtn {<font color="green"><i>switch cap & cur/max guage values</i></font id="green">}
#var fhBtnState {foot}
}
|
Can someone fill in the blanks for me? :) |
|
|
|
LightBulb MASTER
Joined: 28 Nov 2000 Posts: 4817 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 7:07 am |
The simple (and obvious) solution would be to tell your friends to use @fskl, @fskd, and @fsk for their horsemanship, even though it's the wrong letter...
Anyway, I'd recommend using %if in the appropriate fields instead of using the button to rescript itself. For instance, change the caption to:
%if( @fhBtnState = "foot", @fskl-F: @fskd (@fsk), @hskl-H: @hskd (@hsk)) |
|
|
|
horks Apprentice
Joined: 20 Jul 2001 Posts: 127 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 8:24 pm |
Hey thanks lightbulb!! I didn't even think of putting an if statement in the caption. I can simulate the switch by clicking the gauge feature i was trying to get by making the button switch the @fhBtnState var.
But what about the gauge values? I don't want the gauge showing % to footsoldiery skill when it's got the horsemanship caption. Can I put an if statement in the value line for the guage? |
|
|
|
LightBulb MASTER
Joined: 28 Nov 2000 Posts: 4817 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 10:22 pm |
I would think so. Haven't you tried?
|
|
|
|
|
|