Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
Guldar
Beginner


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 4:32 am   

Gemstone III Scripts
 
I was wondering if any talented Zmud programmers out there could program some sort of thing so that all the wizard scripts that are out there would be useable by zmud. I know you could completely redo it in zmud a billion times better but something to emulate the wizard environment so you could run the ones you've already made.

Or at least some help in figuring out how to only send commands to the mud if you've got the prompt and pausing if you dont... can only type one line ahead thing.
Reply with quote
Emit
Magician


Joined: 24 Feb 2001
Posts: 342
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 4:42 am   
 
You lost me at talented......

--------

moon.icebound.net:9000
Reply with quote
Guldar
Beginner


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 5:11 am   
 
ok. I didnt explain that well. hmm.. all I really need help with is how to make an alias wait until it see's a < from the output of the mud before it spits out its next command if you were to have say..

e
w
e
go bank
deposit 230
out
out
Reply with quote
Kjata
GURU


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 4379
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 12:48 pm   
 
Separate your commands. Have the alias execute the first part of the commands and then have a trigger that executes the other part when it sees the "<":
#TRIGGER {<} {e;w;e;go bank;deposit 230;out;out}

Kjata
Reply with quote
Anabasis
Wanderer


Joined: 26 Jan 2001
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 3:34 pm   
 
I believe he is asking for a zMud script that will read his existing Wizard scripts, which are stored as simple text files, but with different extensions.

It would merely be a matter of have zMud open the text file, and execute it on a line by line basis, with a slight delay between each line.

However, it would still require that the Simu user rewrite thier scripts, since you'd have to strip out the Wizard scripting commands anyway.

Ana
Reply with quote
Emit
Magician


Joined: 24 Feb 2001
Posts: 342
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 5:12 pm   
 
oh, i think i have an idea for the delaying system.

#alias del {
commands = %1
count = 1
#t+ execwait
#cr
}
#class execwait
#tr {<} {#if (@count = (%numitems(@commands)+1)) {#t- execwait} {%item(@commands, @count);#add count 1}}
#class 0

use it like this:

del {e|w|e|go bank|deposit 230|out|out}

--------

moon.icebound.net:9000
Reply with quote
Guldar
Beginner


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 2:21 am   
 
Hmm. I'm not sure if i was clear. I need the < before each and every command issued. And i'm not quite sure how or where I would set up the aforementioned code.


quote:

Separate your commands. Have the alias execute the first part of the commands and then have a trigger that executes the other part when it sees the "<":
#TRIGGER {<} {e;w;e;go bank;deposit 230;out;out}

Kjata

Reply with quote
Kjata
GURU


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 4379
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 4:37 am   
 
Ok, set up a list with the commands to perform and have a trigger that performs the first one and removes it:
#TRIGGER {<} {#IF (@commands) {#EXEC %item(@commands, 1;#DELNITEM commands 1)}}

Now, when you want the trigger to do each command and wait for the <, just fill the variable with a list of the commands to execute. Example:
#VAR commands {e|w|e|go bank|deposit 230|out|out}

Kjata
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4692
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 7:03 am   
 
speaking of GS3, has anyone manages to emulate the thought window?

i tried:
#trigger {You hear the(*) thoughts of (%w) echo in your mind~:;"(*)"} {#cap think %2 ~[%1~]~:;#gag}

problem it that the thought message and the line that triggers it are not on the same line

also having trouble formating my child thought window to display how i want it too

Shalimar
Reply with quote
TonDiening
GURU


Joined: 26 Jul 2001
Posts: 1958
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 8:23 am   
 
Thought window concepts in the beta forum:
here here and others in there.

How did your window formatting look like?

Ton Diening
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4692
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:07 am   
 
what i did would only return the line that someone was thinking, the rest of it semmed to have been ignored and the thoughts themselves were still in the main window

Shalimar
Reply with quote
Anabasis
Wanderer


Joined: 26 Jan 2001
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 3:27 pm   
 
Just to be on the safe side, I'd make one change to the triggers, since the > is the normal game prompt on a new line.

#TRIGGER {^<} {#IF (@commands) {#EXEC %item(@commands, 1;#DELNITEM commands 1)}}

Ana
Reply with quote
Guldar
Beginner


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 11:59 pm   
 
Hmm. I'm copying what you say and pasting it in the command line and entering it, its still not working quite right for me.
Reply with quote
Charbal
GURU


Joined: 15 Jun 2001
Posts: 654
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 12:55 am   
 
The trigger also has a missing parenthesis. So this might work better for you:

#TRIGGER {^<} {#IF (@commands) {#EXEC %item(@commands, 1);#DELNITEM commands 1)}}


 - Charbal
Reply with quote
Kjata
GURU


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 4379
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 2:07 am   
 
Heh, and don't forget to remove the now dangling closing parenthesis:
#TRIGGER {^<} {#IF (@commands) {#EXEC %item(@commands, 1);#DELNITEM commands 1}}

I think that now, between all of us, we got it right.



Kjata
Reply with quote
Guldar
Beginner


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 10:25 pm   
 
#IF (@commands) {#EXEC %item(@commands, 1);#DELNITEM commands 1}
^ syntax error
Reply with quote
Kjata
GURU


Joined: 10 Oct 2000
Posts: 4379
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 10:28 pm   
 
Don't see anything wrong with it. Where and how did you enter that command?

Kjata
Reply with quote
Guldar
Beginner


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 11:00 pm   
 
simply copied it, and inputed it into the command line.
Reply with quote
Anabasis
Wanderer


Joined: 26 Jan 2001
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 11:01 pm   
 
Okay, just played with it a little offline. I got the syntax error too, at the %item function in the command. I have no idea why, but the error goes away if you change the #EXEC to a #SEND. So try this...

#TRIGGER {^<} {#IF (@commands) {#SEND %item(@commands, 1);#DELNITEM commands 1}}

Ana
Reply with quote
Emit
Magician


Joined: 24 Feb 2001
Posts: 342
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 11:06 pm   
 
#exec probably got confused by the space, this works better:

#IF (@commands) {#EXEC {%item(@commands, 1)};#DELNITEM commands 1}


--------

moon.icebound.net:9000
Reply with quote
Guldar
Beginner


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 11:30 pm   
 
mutter. still doesnt work for me. by the way, my prompt is simply >. I changed it in the trigger thing but it still doestn work.
Reply with quote
Anabasis
Wanderer


Joined: 26 Jan 2001
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2003 3:07 pm   
 
quote:
by the way, my prompt is simply >


Yes, but the ^ character is used to match the beginning of a new line. It keeps the trigger from firing on just any instance of the > character, and also keeps you safe from people trying to spoof your trigger.

Ana
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net