|
Timas Novice
Joined: 05 Jan 2003 Posts: 39 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 12:10 am
Database issues |
Hey folks,
I've slowly been starting to mess with the database thing in zMUD, never saw a need for it before but I'm starting to run out of things to play with, so anyways..
I made a database (test), in this database I made two fields, name and extra, I entered some random values in to make a few records
I type:
#LOOPVIEW {#SHOW &Name,&extra}
I get:
Timas,rian
Airelle,Rose
Kariwyn,Serandell
Vlemar,Rellian
So far so good.
Now I type:
#QUERY (timas = &Name)
I get:
No records found in view All
True, I did a capital T for Timas in the DB.. so, query is empty now I'd like to clear it and see the complete list again..
I do:
#DBRESET
#LOOPVIEW {#SHOW &name,&extra}
I get:
Nothing. It doesn't remove the query.. I've been looking through the helpfiles and scripts earlier posted for databases here on the forums but I can't find the why or how..
Any help or suggestions would grearly be appreciated. |
|
|
|
Rorso Wizard
Joined: 14 Oct 2000 Posts: 1368
|
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 5:53 pm |
quote: Originally posted by Timas
Hey folks,
I've slowly been starting to mess with the database thing in zMUD, never saw a need for it before but I'm starting to run out of things to play with, so anyways..
I made a database (test), in this database I made two fields, name and extra, I entered some random values in to make a few records
I type:
#LOOPVIEW {#SHOW &Name,&extra}
I get:
Timas,rian
Airelle,Rose
Kariwyn,Serandell
Vlemar,Rellian
So far so good.
Now I type:
#QUERY (timas = &Name)
I get:
No records found in view All
True, I did a capital T for Timas in the DB.. so, query is empty now I'd like to clear it and see the complete list again..
I do:
#DBRESET
#LOOPVIEW {#SHOW &name,&extra}
I get:
Nothing. It doesn't remove the query.. I've been looking through the helpfiles and scripts earlier posted for databases here on the forums but I can't find the why or how..
Any help or suggestions would grearly be appreciated.
This might be a bug in zMUD. Please send an email to support@zuggsoft.com explaining the issue. |
|
|
|
LightBulb MASTER
Joined: 28 Nov 2000 Posts: 4817 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:08 pm |
Three suggestions. I don't know if any of them will make a difference or not.
1. Use the same case, Timas
2. Use double-quotes to indicate that Timas is a string, "Timas"
3. Use the same order demonstrated in the #QUERY examples, database field first, compared value second.
Putting all those suggestions together, the new query would be:
#QUERY (&Name = "Timas") |
|
|
|
Rorso Wizard
Joined: 14 Oct 2000 Posts: 1368
|
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:18 pm |
quote: Originally posted by LightBulb
Three suggestions. I don't know if any of them will make a difference or not.
1. Use the same case, Timas
2. Use double-quotes to indicate that Timas is a string, "Timas"
3. Use the same order demonstrated in the #QUERY examples, database field first, compared value second.
Putting all those suggestions together, the new query would be:
#QUERY (&Name = "Timas")
The problem was that #DBRESET doesn't reset the view. |
|
|
|
Timas Novice
Joined: 05 Jan 2003 Posts: 39 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 1:20 am |
I've been playing and testing a bit more.. I got halfa workaround using the %query function instead but I still can't get #DBRESET to work (properly?).
Mailed support as Rorso mentioned, thanks for the suggestions tho, they did get me further on the road :)
Timbo |
|
|
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|