Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4525
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 2:26 am   

colors
 
Why is it that when i uses colors in the %colorname helpfile, if i have a capture set to the same line, many of the colors capturs over as black?

i was using them in #CW triggers

here is the help file ver batm

Syntax: %colorname(s)

Converts the HTML color name in s to an RGB color value. Supported colors are:

'aliceblue',
'antiquewhite',
'aqua',
'aquamarine',
'azure',
'beige',
'bisque',
'black',
'blanchedalmond',
'blue',
'blueviolet',
'brown',
'burlywood',
'cadetblue',
'chartreuse',
'chocolate',
'coral',
'cornflowerblue',
'cornsilk',
'crimson',
'cyan',
'darkblue',
'darkcyan',
'darkgoldenrod',
'darkgray',
'darkgreen',
'darkkhaki',
'darkmagenta',

'darkolivegreen',
'darkorange',
'darkorchid',
'darkred',
'darksalmon',
'darkseagreen',
'darkslateblue',
'darkslategray',
'darkturquoise',
'darkviolet',
'deeppink',
'deepskyblue',
'dimgray',
'dodgerblue',
'firebrick',
'floralwhite',
'forestgreen',
'fuchsia',
'gainsboro',
'ghostwhite',
'gold',
'goldenrod',
'gray',
'green',
'greenyellow',
'honeydew',

'hotpink',
'indianred',
'indigo',
'ivory',
'khaki',
'lavender',
'lavenderblush',
'lawngreen',
'lemonchiffon',
'lightblue',
'lightcoral',
'lightcyan',
'lightgoldenrodyellow',
'lightgreen',
'lightgrey',
'lightpink',
'lightsalmon',
'lightseagreen',
'lightskyblue',
'lightslategray',
'lightsteelblue',
'lightyellow',
'lime',
'limegreen',
'linen',
'magenta',

'maroon',
'mediumaquamarine',
'mediumblue',
'mediumorchid',
'mediumpurple',
'mediumseagreen',
'mediumslateblue',
'mediumspringgreen',
'mediumturquoise',
'mediumvioletred',
'midnightblue',
'mintcream',
'mistyrose',
'moccasin',
'navajowhite',
'navy',
'oldlace',
'olive',
'olivedrab',
'orange',
'orangered',
'orchid',
'palegoldenrod',
'palegreen',
'paleturquoise',

'palevioletred',
'papayawhip',
'peachpuff',
'peru',
'pink',
'plum',
'powderblue',
'purple',
'red',
'rosybrown',
'royalblue',
'saddlebrown',
'salmon',
'sandybrown',
'seagreen',
'seashell',
'sienna',
'silver',
'skyblue',
'slateblue',
'slategray',
'snow',
'springgreen',
'steelblue',
'tan',
'teal',
'thistle',
'tomato',
'turquoise',
'violet',

'wheat',
'white',
'whitesmoke',
'yellow',
'yellowgreen'
Reply with quote
megamog75
Enchanter


Joined: 20 Nov 2002
Posts: 627
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 12:53 am   
 
What Help file are you reading?
I have the latest Zmud and this %colorword is not in it.
But maybe someone slese knows.
Maybe an example would help?
Reply with quote
palio
Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2003
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 3:20 am   
 
Megamog75, If you use help colorname without the % yo will find it
Reply with quote
Vijilante
SubAdmin


Joined: 18 Nov 2001
Posts: 5182

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 3:32 am   
 
What syntax are you using with #CW? If what I say below doesn't really make sense please provide an example of a trigger that isn't working for you.

While all the named colors listed there work with #COLOR, #PCOL, and #CW; %colorname returns a numeric value. I believe that when #CW, et all see a numeric value they interpret it based on a much older usage exampled in the help for %ansi/%color. I am guessing you did "#CW %colorname(gold)" when it should just be "#CW gold".
Reply with quote
LightBulb
MASTER


Joined: 28 Nov 2000
Posts: 4817
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 3:52 am   
 
Vague questions are extremely difficult to answer. Specifics please.

Which colors capture over as black? 5 that do and 5 that don't would be more than enough, there's no need to to list out 100+ the way you did.

What do you mean by capture? Where are you capturing to? How are you capturing? What is the script you are using for the capture? What is the script you are using for the coloring? Which windows are these scripts in?

Any other details you can think of that might possibly be pertinent.

I've personally tested every one of these colors with #CW. They all work.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4525
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 9:26 am   
 
ok i have it used to color certain color words
#CW pink pink
#CW crimson crimson
#CW turquoise turquoise
ect
then i have some captures set up for channels used withing the mud
#TR {~[beta~] *} {#CAP beta}
I have them inunsorted order in my settings editor so that the capture trigger is last to ensure that all my colors get captured

Now then,
in my normal game window the color works fine and dandy, the problem is when the text colored with the colors mentioned in %colorname, it appears as black in my beta child window, making it most difficult to read
Reply with quote
LightBulb
MASTER


Joined: 28 Nov 2000
Posts: 4817
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 3:00 pm   
 
Okay, I see what you mean. This appears to be a bug which occurs when #CW is used with non-standard colors and fires before the #CAPTURE trigger.

You can solve this by creating duplicate #CW triggers in the capture window.
beta:#CW pink pink
#CW crimson crimson
#CW turquoise turquoise
1:#NOOP
Reply with quote
megamog75
Enchanter


Joined: 20 Nov 2002
Posts: 627
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2003 2:13 am   
 
Thank you Palio, I understand Colorname is in the help files but he originally had colorword
which is not in the help files, don't worry I make mistakes all the time,good thing someones always shedding some light on that.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4525
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 6:56 pm   
 
Is there a way to get these colors to capture without having to duplicate all my triggers and save settings on a child window?
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
Vijilante
SubAdmin


Joined: 18 Nov 2001
Posts: 5182

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 7:41 pm   
 
I think this bug might still be around. I would suggest moving those #CW triggers into the child window settings. That is how I do them as well as time stamping, and it does a lot to reduce clutter in my main settings.
_________________
The only good questions are the ones we have never answered before.
Search the Forums
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4525
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 11:53 pm   
 
but i use the colors in the main screen as well... im trying to avoid needing a settings file for the child window
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » zMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net