Register to post in forums, or Log in to your existing account
 

Play RetroMUD
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion
klerindias
Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:54 pm   

Is it possible?
 
Is it possible to change #window size depends on numbers of lines.

Example:

line1
line2
line3
line4
line5

and i got again and it repeating with updating values

line1
line2
line3
line4
line5

and it change non stop but i somehow want to count this number
in this example 5 lines (i can do it)
and then resize my window to number of lines i count ( no clue how to do it)
Reply with quote
Daern
Sorcerer


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 12:48 am   
 
There are %pref options for WindowHeight and WindowWidth, but they don't see to do anything... bug?

Besides that, there's no good way to do it, unless you want to close the window and remake it every time...
Reply with quote
MattLofton
GURU


Joined: 23 Dec 2000
Posts: 4834
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 1:18 am   
 
No, not a bug. An unfinished/forgotten feature that suffers from a multitude of various issues--lack of updates when the governed features were redone, said prefs never doing anything in the first place (zmud port, basically), etc.
_________________
EDIT: I didn't like my old signature
Reply with quote
Daern
Sorcerer


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 2:01 am   
 
MattLofton wrote:
lack of updates

I lol'd.
Reply with quote
shalimar
GURU


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 4548
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 2:42 am   
 
using the #makewindow command you should be able to set the window height (in pixels) so some trial and error would be needed.
_________________
Discord: Shalimar#3679
Reply with quote
Dumas
Enchanter


Joined: 11 Feb 2003
Posts: 511
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 12:45 am   
 
shalimar wrote:
using the #makewindow command you should be able to set the window height (in pixels) so some trial and error would be needed.


How about when you are opening an already created window? Does MAKEWINDOW allow this?
Reply with quote
Anaristos
Sorcerer


Joined: 17 Jul 2007
Posts: 821
Location: California

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 1:18 am   
 
Using the #MAKEWINDOW command or #MXP <FRAME>...</FRAME> will do what you want. If the window doesn't exist it will create it, if it does exist it will modify it according to tha parameter list passed to it. As to how to figure out how to adjust a window based on its contents, I have found that, for me, it is not an exact science. However, by using character values (##C) I can build an agreeable window. The length of the text you want to write (obtained via the %len function) adjusted for the current fontsize should work for you. A monospace font is recommended in this case.
_________________
Sic itur ad astra.
Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Home » Forums » CMUD General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2009 Zugg Software. Hosted by Wolfpaw.net