|
verbiage Newbie
Joined: 24 Jun 2010 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:56 am
[cmud 3.2 beta] Syntax of the #Class command to create Keywords for Classes? |
I cannot figure out the syntax of the new #Class command that supports specifying the keyword or value that is required for room key classes to function properly with the mapper. The relevant threads discussing how this work are here:
https://forums.zuggsoft.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=31681&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0
Quote: |
As far as the keywords, each room has a keyword of "RoomXXX" by default. Each zone has a keyword of "ZoneXXX" by default. Adding additional keyword lists to the room/zones will come in a later version. So in the first version, the room doesn't have a list of keywords, it just uses it's default RoomXXX keyword. |
Does this mean that only multiples are not supported, or that by default it treats no keyword as having the same keyword as the name of the class?
http://forums.zuggsoft.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=32984
Quote: |
Each class folder can now have an Enable and Disable script that is executed when the class is enabled or disabled. The old script for a room has been copied into the Enable script for the corresponding RoomXXX class folder. Each class folder also has a Keyword value. This can be used to enable/disable multiple classes that share the same keyword. For example, when the mapper moves into Room 123, it enables any class folder with the keyword of "Room123". When you enter Zone 3, the mapper will enable any class with the keyword of "Zone3". The #T+ and #T- commands now accept a setting type of "key" to enable/disable keyword classes. |
The syntax is specified for #T+, but in Cmud those will only turn classes or keyclasses on and off. Only #Class can create the class. Thanks for any help. |
|
|
|
charneus Wizard
Joined: 19 Jun 2005 Posts: 1876 Location: California
|
Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 6:27 pm |
Quite simple, really.
Code: |
#CLASS "Classname" {Key=Zonexxx}
#CLASS "Classname" {Key=Roomxxx} |
Not sure what you're asking about regarding multiples not being supported. Right now, rooms and zones do not have multiple keywords available.
Charneus |
|
|
|
MattLofton GURU
Joined: 23 Dec 2000 Posts: 4834 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:33 pm |
Don't think multiples are supported at all, actually. That's not too relevant for non-mapper classes, but on top of the singular keyword thing room/zone scripts absolutely MUST be in the form of RoomXXX or ZoneXXX or else they don't activate.
|
|
_________________ EDIT: I didn't like my old signature |
|
|
|
Zugg MASTER
Joined: 25 Sep 2000 Posts: 23379 Location: Colorado, USA
|
Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 8:26 pm |
Multiple keywords are not supported yet. It's on the to-do list, but not for the initial 3.x public version.
Charneus is correct about the syntax for setting the keywords.
And remember that how Room Scripts work now is completely different. In the past, CMUD/zMUD would create a temporaty class folder (System/TempMap, etc) and would execute your room script within this class context when you enter a room. When exiting the room, the entire contents of this temporary class were deleted. Recreating and deleting these scripts each time you enter/exit a room was a big performance problem.
In 3.x, you put your scripts *within* the special class folders "RoomXXX". When you enter the room, this class is *enabled* and when you exit the room, the class is *disabled*. This saves the overhead of deleting/creating settings. In addition, each class folder now has it's own "onEnable" and "onDisable" script that is executed when the class folder is enabled/disabled.
When CMUD 3.x tries to "convert" your old room scripts, all it does it place your script within the "OnEnable" script for the "RoomXXX" class. This is not always the desired behavior. For example, if you have a #BUTTON creation command in your room script, you don't want to create that button every time you enable the RoomXXX class. In that case you would remove the #BUTTON command from the OnEnable script and just move the button within the RoomXXX class folder. As the class folder is enabled/disabled when you enter/exit the room then the button will automatically appear and disappear.
Because of the core change in the nature of how room scripts are done in 3.x, it was impossible to seamlessly convert existing scripts. In our surveys, the vast majority of users did not have very many scripts to make this an issue. If you have hundreds of existing scripts then you are definitely in the small minority. I apologize for the initial inconvience of converting your scripts, but in the long run it will be faster and you'll be able to do a lot more with scripts in the mapper.
Once multiple keywords are added, you should be able to consolidate your room scripts into specific classes. For example, you will be able to create a class folder keyword for a "shop" that will contain all scripts needed when you are in a "shop" room in the MUD and can just give those "shop" rooms the "shop" keyword to activate those scripts. |
|
|
|
verbiage Newbie
Joined: 24 Jun 2010 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:34 pm |
Ah, thanks charneus. I had tried that syntax but not with brackets. Thanks! Zugg I'll respond over in the other thread. Thanks for your help! I do agree the new method of scripts is MUCH nicer, there will be a lot more opportunity for managing them seamlessly, especially with the events and classes being scriptable so mass changes can be made easily.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|